Newton by Folkingham, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Newton by Folkingham, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newton by Folkingham, Lincolnshire
Newton St Botolph Lincolnshire.jpg
Newton St Botolph Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aveland
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aveland
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

NEWTON (St. Botolph), a parish, in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Aveland, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 2¼ miles (N. W. by W.) from Falkingham. [1]

Additional information:

Newton by Folkingham St Botolph is an Ancient Parish.

The present church replaced the predecessor, mentioned in the Domesday survey, in the 14th century and was restored in 1865. Subsequent disrepair necessitated restoration in the 1980's.

Newton is a hamlet situated in an agricultural area forming the Welby Estate.

Newton is in the Sleaford area and is near Falkingham in the wapentake of Aveland and was in the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

It should not be confused with Newton on Trent, Lincolnshire Newton by Toft, Lincolnshire in the county or diocese.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

The hamlet of Newton was part of the Aswarby sub-district of Bourne Registration District from 1837-1890 when in reorganised registration districts it was transferred to Leadenham sub-District.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Newton by Folkingham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Lincolnshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1990 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Lincolnshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Lincolnshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr Index = Lincolnshire Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Lincolnshire Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Newton by Folkingham Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1990
1538-1990
1538-1990
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1911
1537-1911
1537-1970
FMP Banns

1647-1911


FMP Marr Index

1700-1837


FMP Marr

1628-1837


JOIN

1538-1837


NBI



1754-2002
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Newton by Folkingham Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Newton

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Newton/


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 September 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk