To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Newstead, Erie County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Additional Resources:

Erie County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Newstead, NY

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

Newstead Public Library
33 Main Street
Akron, NY 14001
Phone: 716-542-2327

Genealogical Resources: Akron newspapers, dating back to 1878.

Grosvenor Room Genealogy
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
(716) 858-8900
Email form | blog

Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Newstead Historical Society
P.O. Box 222
Akron, NY 14001
Phone: (716) 542-7022
Publishes: Newstead Historical Society Newsletter.

Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
25 Nottingham Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
716-873-9644
Facebook page
Genealogical Resources: Library, Guide to Genealogical Materials, city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery transcriptions, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.
Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, N.Y. 14075-0338
Genealogical Resources: Surname list, locality list, 1865 Census index, journal, research library.

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

Town of Newstead, Clerk
5 Clarence Center Road
PO Box 227
Akron, NY 14001
Phone: 716-542-4572
Email: dizydorczak@townofnewstead.com

Town Historian[edit | edit source]

Town of Newstead, Historian
5 Clarence Center Road
PO Box 227
Akron, NY 14001
Phone: 716-542-4573
Brief History

Town Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Newstead, Erie County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Places[edit | edit source]