Newquay, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Newquay, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Newquay St Michael Cornwall contributor Tony Atkin
|Poor Law Union||Penzance|
|Parish registers: 1851|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
NEW-QUAY, a hamlet, in the parish of St. Columb Minor, union of St. Columb Major, hundred of Pyder, E. division of Cornwall. This place is situated on the shore of the Bristol Channel. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. 
Newquay, (Cornish: Tewynn Pleustri) was a chapelry of St Columb Minor Ancient Parish in Cornwall.
The parish was created 1882 from part of the Ancient Parish and the current church dedicated to St Michael and designed by Sir Ninian Comper, was built in 1911 since the expansion of the town had made the chapelry inadequate.
The church was destroyed by an arson attack on 29 June 1993 but has since been reopened (rededicated in 1996). The stained glass windows and rood screen feature St Michael, the three other archangels, and Jesus Christ and Mary the Blessed Virgin.
The modern parish is within the Diocese of Truro.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Newquay, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|Newquay, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 165
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Newquay in GENUKI