Newmarket All Saints, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Newmarket All Saints, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Newmarket All Saints, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Newmarket|
|Parish registers: 1622; For more records see Wood Ditton (Suffolk)|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1594|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
NEWMARKET, the head of a union, and a market town, comprising the parish of St. Mary in the hundred of Lackford, W. division of Suffolk, and the parish of All Saints in the hundred of Cheveley, county of Cambridge, 13 miles (N. E. by E.) from Cambridge, and 61 (N. N. E.) from London, on the road to Norwich. There is a place of worship for Independents.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Newmarket All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Newmarket All Saints Online Parish Records|
|IGI||1822-1822, 1823-1823, 1834-1834, 1837-1837||
|FS Catalog PRs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Newmarket All Saints on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 394-398. Date accessed and adapted: 08 July 2013.