Newfoundland and Labrador Compiled Genealogies
|Newfoundland & Labrador Wiki Topics|
|Newfoundland & Labrador Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Keith Matthews Name Files, 1500-1850[edit | edit source]
- Keith Matthews Name Files, 1500-1850 The Keith Matthews Name Files is a collection of data on individuals, families and businesses that were involved in the settlement, fisheries and trade of Newfoundland from earliest settlement to 1850. The files were compiled from a wide variety of English, Irish and Newfoundland records, including parish registers, newspapers, shipping records, customs records, political papers, census records, merchant records, diaries, etc. and include data on 7,300 surnames, arranged by surname and subdivided by given name.
The Atlantic Canadians[edit | edit source]
- The Atlantic Canadians 1600-1900: An Alphabetized Directory of the People, Places, and Vital Dates, 3 volumes. Elliot, Noel M., editor, (Toronto, Ontario: Genealogical Research Library, 1994).
- This is an index to many published biographies, cemetery records, census records (through 1881), church records, directories, family histories, genealogies, immigration lists, local histories, Loyalist listings, marriage records, periodicals, probate records, and vital records in newspapers.
The Family History Society of Newfoundland and Labrador[edit | edit source]
- "The Family History Society of Newfoundland and Labrador maintains an ever-growing library of genealogical resource materials, including our burgeoning collection of family and community histories, donated by members and patrons alike. An index to the items in this collection can be found in "Section O" starting on page 121 of our Guide to Holdings."
The Family History Society of Newfoundland and Labrador
P.O. Box 8008
St. John's, NL
Canada. A1B 3M7
50 Pippy Place - Unit 16B
St. John's, NL
Telephone: (709) 754 - 9525
St. John's Public Libraries[edit | edit source]
- GUIDE TO GENEALOGICAL MATERIAL IN THE NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR COLLECTION ST. JOHN’S PUBLIC LIBRARIES
- Online Catalogue
This collection has several published and donated family histories.
Newfoundland & Labrador Collection
Provincial Resource Library
Arts & Culture Centre
St. John's, NL, Canada
Telephone: (709) 737-3955
Newfoundland and Labrador Grand Banks[edit | edit source]
- Family History Collection at Provincial Archives of Newfoundland and Labrador
- Personal Genealogical Homepages in Newfoundland and Labrador
- Family Bible Transcriptions
Collecting Previous Research by Others Part Two: Online Family Tree Collections[edit | edit source]
For step-by-step instructions on searching several important compiled genealogy websites, see Collecting Previous Research by Others Part Two: Online Family Tree Collections.
Digitized Books[edit | edit source]
- Local histories frequently include biographical sketches of early and prominent settlers. Many histories are no longer under copyright and can be found in the following online, digitized book collections. Search with keywords "History" and "the name of your locality" (state, county, or town).
FamilySearch Catalog[edit | edit source]
- Surname or Keyword Search FamilySearch Catalog Family genealogies can be found listed by using the "Surname" search. For extremely common surnames, narrow down your search by using the surname and the location where the family lived in the "Keyword" search.
- Genealogy listings, FamilySearch Library, Salt Lake City, Utah
References[edit | edit source]