Newfoundland and Labrador Church Records
|Newfoundland & Labrador Research Topics|
|Newfoundland & Labrador Background|
|Local Research Resources|
- Parish Records for Newfoundland and Labrador... Listed by District Baptisms, Marriages, Burials.
- Ecclesiastical history of Newfoundland
- A History of the Churches in Newfoundland ($)
- History of the Church in eastern Canada and Newfoundland ($)
- Newfoundland, Church Records, 1793-1945 Images.
- Newfoundland, Vital Statistics, 1753-1893 Index and Images.
- Newfoundland, Church Records, 1793-1899, index and images, ($)
The major denominations of Newfoundland include the Anglican Church, the Catholic Church, and the United Church of Canada (the Methodists, Presbyterians, and Congregationalists united in 1925 to form the United Church of Canada). The P.A.N.L. has parish registers, as follows:
United Church of Christ 1765–1981
NGB Parish Records for Newfoundland and Labrador Listed by District.
The Maritime History Group, St. John’s holds copies of some English and Irish parish registers.
To find the name and address of a church, consult the appropriate religions or write their central office for assistance. To obtain church directories, write to:
Church Records Anglican Church Archives
The archives include baptism, marriage and burial records going back to the mid 1700s.
These records deal not only with the Cathedral parish of today but also all of St. John’s and even into the province as a whole.
Anglican Diocese of Western Newfoundland Archives
25 Main Street
Corner Brook, Newfoundland A2H 1C2
Predominant records are from 1976 to 1990, but there are also records from 1842 to 1990. The Diocese of Western Newfoundland was created in 1976 during the process of restructuring. The former Diocese of Newfoundland (established 1839) was divided into three smaller dioceses. All records generated since this split are located at the Diocesan Archives of Western Newfoundland.
Sacramental records of several parishes of Western Newfoundland (since 1842) will be available also through this Archive, by means of microfilmed records. Provision is made also for collection and microfilming of other parish records of the diocese. Correspondence, minutes, reports, principles, constitutions, journals, yearbooks, administrative records, handbooks, newsletters, orders of service, press releases, notices, questionnaires, plans, assessments, feasibility studies, property records are all housed here.
Records are dated from 1859 to 1995. Records relate to the history of the parish since its inception. These include vital statistics records, e.g., birth, marriage and burial records; publications on the history of the parish; photographs; minutes and other records of the various parish organizations, etc.
The Diocese of Eastern Newfoundland and Labrador
19 King's Bridge Road
St. John's, NF A1C 3K4
Telephone: 709-576-6697 Fax: 709-576-7122
Archives of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of St. John’s
The Archdiocesan Archives is the main repository for the historical and contemporary documents of the Roman Catholic Church in Newfoundland. Its holdings are divided as follows:
- Papers of the Bishops (1784-2001)
- Clergy Files
- Estates and Wills
- Parishes of the Archdiocese
- Vatican Publications
- Educational Records and Reports
- The Monitor (1934-1996)
- Parish Baptism, Marriage and Mortuary Records (1763-1850)
- Architectural descriptions and blueprints
There is a guide to the collections of the Archives and it is available to researchers for examination at the archives if requested. The above information is located on the website.
Archives of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese
P.O. Box 1363
St. John’s, Newfoundland A1C 5M3
Salvation Army Records
Salvation Army East Division Headquarters
21 Adams Avenue
St. John's, NF A1C 4Z1
Telephone: 709-579-2022 Fax: 709-754-8336
United Church Records
The United Church of Canada Archives holds the local church records of the United Church and its uniting denominations (Methodist, Congregational, Presbyterian (1925 union); and Evangelical United Brethren—joined in 1968). The records of the churches which did not join at union but remained part of the continuing Presbyterian Church in Canada after 1925, are held in the:
Presbyterian Church in Canada Archives and Records Office
50 Wynford Drive
Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J7
Telephone: 416-441-1111 ext. 310
United Church of Canada - Newfoundland and Labrador Conference Archives
320 Elizabeth Avenue
St. John’s, Newfoundland A1B 1T9
- Murphy, Sharon L. "Additional Sources for Newfoundland and Labrador Birth, Marriage, and Death Records (National Institute)," National Institute for Genealogical Studies (2012), https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Additional_Sources_for_Newfoundland_and_Labrador_Birth,_Marriage,_and_Death_Records_%28National_Institute%29.