Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada Genealogy
|Newfoundland & Labrador Research Topics|
|Newfoundland & Labrador Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Newfoundland and Labrador ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Newfoundland and Labrador Information
Newfoundland and Labrador is the most eastern province of Canada. It is made up of the island of Newfoundland and mainland Labrador. In 1854 the British government established Newfoundland's responsible government. Newfoundland remained a colony until acquiring Dominion status in 1907. A dominion constituted a self-governing state of the British Empire or British Commonwealth and the Dominion of Newfoundland was relatively autonomous from British rule. Since the early 1800s, Newfoundland and Quebec, Lower Canada had been in a border dispute over the Labrador region. In 1927, however, the British government ruled that the area known as modern day Labrador was to be considered part of the Dominion of Newfoundland. After the referendum, a seven-man delegation was picked by the British governor to negotiate Canada's offer on behalf of Newfoundland. After six of the seven-man delegation signed, the British Government passed the British North America Act, 1949 through Parliament. Newfoundland officially joined Canada at midnight, March 31, 1949.
Getting Started with Newfoundland and Labrador Research
Links to articles on getting started with Newfoundland and Labrador research.
Newfoundland and Labrador Research Tools
Newfoundland and Labrador Map
|FORMER NAME, if applicable||TYPE||
|Channel-Port aux Basques||Link||Link|
|Conception Bay South||Link||Link|
|North West River||Link||Link|
|Port aux Basques||Link|
|Port de Grave||Link||Link|
|Silver Fox Island||Link||Link|
|Trinity (near Trinity East)||Link||Link|
|West St. Modeste||Link||Link|
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Newfoundland and Labrador Family History Center locator map