Newcastle upon Tyne All Saints, Northumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Newcastle upon Tyne All Saints, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Newcastle upon Tyne All Saints, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle; Newcastle upon Tyne
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Newcastle upon Tyne
Registration District Newcastle upon Tyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Newcastle upon Tyne All Saints is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Northumberland, created in 1808 from chapelry in Newcastle upon Tyne St Nicolas, Northumberland Ancient Parish. There are places of worship in Newcastle for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, members of the Scottish Kirk, Sandemanians, Swedenborgians, Unitarians, Roman Catholics, and others.[1]

Additional information:

The living of All Saints' is a perpetual curacy; net income, £333; patron, the Vicar of Newcastle. The church, situated on the summit of an eminence rising abruptly from the river, was founded prior to 1286, rebuilt in 1786, and consecrated on the 17th November, 1789, by the Bishop of Durham. It is a handsome structure in the Roman style, with a lofty tower surmounted by a light and elegant spire; the entrance is by a stately portico of four columns of the Doric order, supporting a pediment. In the vestry of the church, to which it was removed for greater security by the present incumbent, is a splendid monumental brass to the memory of Roger Thornton and Agnes his wife, of the date 1411, in excellent preservation. In the register, which commences in 1600, are the baptismal entries of William, Lord Stowell, in 1745, and his brother, John, Lord Chancellor Eldon, in 1751. A church district, called Byker, was formed out of All Saints' in 1844, by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Newcastle upon Tyne All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Northumberland, Parish Registers, 1538-1950 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr = England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1692-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Durham Diocese Bishop's Transcripts, 1639-1919 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Misc = England, Northumberland, Cumberland, Durham, Miscellaneous Records, 969-2007 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Northumberland and Durham Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Northumberland Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Newcastle upon Tyne All Saints Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1950
1538-1950
1538-1950
FS Marr

1692-1900


FS BTs
1639-1919
1639-1919
1639-1919
FS Misc
969-2007
969-2007
969-2007
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1990
1538-1989
1538-2000
TGEN 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1574-1991
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Vanstone-Pegler, Adrienne N.  Captain Joseph Price 1809-1901. History and family records of Joseph Price and Ann nee Harley. He was born 1809 at Northshields, and baptised at All Saints, Newcastle upon Tyne. This appears to be a seafaring family, and Joseph's brothers and sisters are born around England. This article gives the history of Captn. Joseph Price, and his work in New Zealand, being one of the first white people to walk to Kaiapoi Pa, Canterbury, New Zealand in 1831. His work in Otago, and Canterbury is explained, and his marriage to Akarie/Catherine, and later on to Jane Scott. Other surnames mentioned are Watterreus, Waterhous, Birdling, Mason, Robb, Courtney, Maud, Rains, Robertson, Radford, Creighton. Article is dated 1809-1907, Captain Joseph Price and some of the family are buried at Hampden Cemetery Otago. Article in The Northumberland Durham Family History Society Journal. vol. 32,no.1.pages 19-21, Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo v.32,no.1. (spring 2007)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Newcastle Upon Tyne Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 10 August 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
  3. Searching Parish Records online (Northumberland) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.