Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Northumberland
Newcastle upon Tyne

Guide to Newcastle upon Tyne history, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newcastle upon Tyne
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Newcastle upon Tyne
Registration District Newcastle upon Tyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Newcastle Bridges.jpg

History

Coat of arms of Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle location in the England
Newcastle flag

Newcastle-Upon Tyne (to be distinguished from Newcastle-under Lyme in Staffordshire) is the premier city of northwest England.

Newcastle upon Tyne, known commonly and locally as just Newcastle, is located on the north bank of the river Tyne. It is about 280 miles north of London, but in close proximity to Leeds, Sheffield, and Manchester. It is about 9 miles from the North Sea, and the river is navigable for oceangoing vessels as far as the city docks.

The ground beneath the city is formed from Carboniferous strata of the Middle Pennine Coal Measures Group—a suite of sandstones, mud-stones and coal seams which generally dip moderately eastwards. To the west of the city are the Upper Pennine Coal Measures and further west again the sandstones and mud-stones of the Stainmore Formation. The area to the west of the city has been known for centuries as the source of much of the coal for north east England.

The first recorded settlement in what is now Newcastle was Pons Aelius, a Roman fort and bridge across the River Tyne. It was given the family name of the Roman Emperor Hadrian, who founded it in the 2nd century AD. The population of Pons Aelius at this period was estimated at 2,000.

The Emperor Hadrian is known in history as the roman Emperor who commissioned the structure known as Hadrian's Wall. This wall, a huge civil undertaking, stretches across northern England from the west to the East, and was about 85 miles long. It's function was to act as a barrier or deterrent for the marauding Scottish hordes that were pillaging northern England.

Fragments of Hadrian's Wall are still visible in parts of Newcastle, particularly along the West Road.

After the Roman departure from Britain, completed in 410, Newcastle became part of the powerful Anglo-Saxon kingdom of Northumbria, and became known throughout this period as Monkchester. Throughout the Middle Ages, Newcastle was England's northern fortress. Incorporated first by Henry II, the city had a new charter granted by Elizabeth in 1589.

From 1530, a royal act restricted all shipments of coal from Tyneside to Newcastle Quayside, giving a monopoly in the coal trade to a cartel of Newcastle burgesses known as the Hostmen. This monopoly, which lasted for a considerable time, helped Newcastle prosper and develop into a major town. The phrase taking coals to Newcastle was first recorded contextually in 1538. The phrase itself means a pointless pursuit.

The status of city was granted to Newcastle on 3 June 1882. In the 19th century, shipbuilding and heavy engineering were central to the city's prosperity; and the city was a powerhouse of the Industrial Revolution. This revolution resulted in the urbanization of the city. In 1817 the Maling company, at one time the largest pottery company in the world, moved to the city. The Victorian industrial revolution brought industrial structures that included the 2 1⁄2-mile (4.0 km) Victoria Tunnel, built in 1842, which provided underground wagon ways to the staithes. Newcastle was also one of the first cities in the world to be lit up by electric lighting. [1]

Resources

Cemeteries (Civil)

  • Elswick/St Johns Cemetery (opened 1856)
    St Johns Road
    Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 7TE
  • Hollywood Cemetery (opened 1943)
    Hollywood Avenue
    Newcastle upon Tyne<nr>
  • Lemington Cemetery (opened 1906)
    Union Hall Road
    Newcastle upon Tyne NE15 7JS
  • North Gosforth Cemetery (opened 1878)
    Coach Lane
    Newcastle upon Tyne
  • St Andrews Cemetery (opened 1857)
    Tankerville Terrace
    Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 3BU
  • St Nicholas Cemetery (opened 1858)
    Nuns Moor Road
    Newcastle upon Tyne

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records

Parishes

Newcastle upon Tyne is part of the Newcastle Anglican Diocese. There are many parishes in the area. Some of the larger parishes follow:

  • The Cathedral of St. Nicholas
    St Nicholas Square
    Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PF
  • Jesmond Parish Church
    Eskdale Terrace
    Jesmond
    Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 4DJ
    Phone: +44 191 212 7400
  • St. Paul's Winlaton
    Scotland Head
    Winlaton NE21 6PL
    Phone: +44 191 414 3165
  • St. John's Hebburn
    Canning St
    Hebburn NE31 2UP
    Phone: +44 191 422 7505
  • St. Thomas the Martyr
    The Haymarket
    Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 7PF
    Phone: +44 191 261 2284
  • St. John the Baptist
    Grainger St
    Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5JG
    Phone: +44 191 232 0483
  • St. John, Killingworth
    West Lane
    Killingworth, Tyne and Wear, NE12 6BL
    Phone: +44 191 268 3242
  • St. Andrew's
    Newgate St
    Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SS
    Phone: +44 191 222 0259
  • St. George's
    St George's Cl
    Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TF
    Phone: +44 191 281 1659
  • Holy Trinity
    Churchill Gardens
    Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1HB
    Phone: +44 191 281 3399
  • St Gabriel's
    St Gabriel's Ave
    Newcastle upon Tyne NE6 5QN
    Phone: +44 191 265 5843
  • St. Mary the Virgin
    Thornhill Rd
    Ponteland, Newcastle upon Tyne NE20 9PZ
    Phone: +44 1661 822140

Non Conformists

Newcastle upon Tyne has a large Roman Catholic population. The website follows:

Additionally the following other Christian and Non Christian groups follow:

  • Apostolic Church
  • Baptists
  • Chinese Christian
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
  • Christian Fellowship
  • Evangelical
  • Greek Orthodox Church
  • Jehovah's Witness
  • Lutheran
  • Methodist
  • Pentecostal
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Salvation Army Church
  • Seventh Day Adventists

Non Christian populations include:

  • Buddhist
  • Hindu
  • Humanist
  • Jews
  • Muslim
  • Sikh
  • Taoist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths:


Genealogy From Periodicals

Coat of arms of Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle location in the England
Newcastle flag

Hanson, Marjorie. Does Hannah Ring a Bell. History, photos and family of John Bainbridge and Ann Hodgson, with the following surnames: Stevens, Burfort, Bell, Mellish, Greene, Livermore, Burford. Family moved around Gateshead, Morland, Carlisle, Newcastle, with a branch emigrating to Australia, Ballarat, in 1852. Article in Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol.35,no2, pages 43-46. Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo v.35, no2. (summer 2010)

Thompson, Christopher. Jonathan Richarson: Quaker. History of the Richardsons originally of Hull. The author was given a family tree which was drawn up in 1829, and went back to the 17th Century. The article is a history of the family, who latterly went into Banking, and Mining. One of the relatives marrying a Rev. Robert George Willis, who was born in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Descendants were in Hull, Newcastle Upon Tyne and Shotley Bridge. Picture of Amelia Willis nee Richardson, and Shotley Bridge Spa. Article in the Northumberland and Durham Family History Society Journal, vol.34,no.2. page 54-56. Family History Library Reference, 942.8 B2jo v.34, no.2. (summer 2009)

Moore, Philip.  My Danish Ancestors.  History of William and Wilhelmine Neilson, William stowed away on a ship to North Shields, England in 1863.  A brother Frederick came also. Picture of the Neilson family dated 1905.  Names mentioned are Moore, Freeman, Todd, Wragge, Atkinson, and Lewins.  A descendant moves to Newbottle, and to Galt, Ontario, Canada. Article dated 1786-1901. Article in Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal, vol. 35 no.2. pages 63-65. Family History Library Reference 942.8 B2jo v35.no.2. (summer 2010) vol. 35, no.2.

Owen, J. Philip.  A Northumbrian Musician.  William Gillies Whittaker D. Mus. F.R.C.O.  History of William Gillies Whittaker and his wife Mary Ann, and descendants on both the paternal and maternal side.  Parents were:  John Whittaker and Mary Jane nee Gillies, and William and Susannah Walton Gillies with the following surnames:  Turner, Heads, Pearson, Taylor, Siddell, Purves, Watkins, Swan, Percey, with photos.  Article dated 1799-1976, and is found in the Northumberland & Durham Family History Society, vol. 35. no.4, pages 127-131, Family History Reference 942.8 B2jo vol.35,no.4.

Local Histories


Maps and Gazetteers

Newspapers

Occupations

Newcastle is the commercial, educational and, in partnership with nearby Gateshead, the cultural focus for North East England. As part of Tyneside, Newcastle's economy contributes around £13 billion to the UK GVA. The Central Business District is in the center of the city, bounded by Haymarket, Central Station and the Quayside areas.

While the major industries of ship building and coal mining have declined, Newcastle is building up a core of employers in the electronics, aerospace, and banking arenas. There are also several major Universities within the city proper, and this contributes to the potential for educators in the region.

Finally retailing is huge in the city, and contributes significantly to the economy. In 2010, Newcastle was positioned ninth in the retail center expenditure league of the UK. There are several major shopping areas in Newcastle City Center. The largest of these is the Eldon Square Shopping Center, one of the largest city center shopping complexes in the UK. The main shopping street in the city is Northumberland Street. In a 2004 report, it was ranked as the most expensive shopping street in the UK for rent, outside London. [2]

Newcastle has one of the most diversified economies in the Northern Uk. As such it provides employment opportunities in many diverse areas. Major employment is provided in the following sectors:

  • Primary & Utilities 0.4%
  • Information & communication 4.0%
  • Manufacturing 5.0%
  • Financial & insurance 4.5%
  • Construction 3.4%
  • Property 1.9%
  • Automotive trades 1.3%
  • Professional/Scient./Techn. 8.8%
  • Business admin/supp. services 7.2%
  • Retail 8.6%
  • Public admin & defence 10.5%
  • Transport & storage 3.6%
  • Education 11.6%
  • Accomodation & food services 7.0%
  • Health 16.0%
  • Arts/entertain./other services 5.0%

Major employers include the following companies, well known in the UK: Sage PLC (Business Services), Ward Hadaway and Eversheds (Professional Services),Bellway (Construction), Fenwick, John Lewis, Debenhams (Retail, Northern Rock (Banking & Financial Services), BAE Systems, Duco Ltd, Chieftain (Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering), Greggs plc (Food and drink), and Go Ahead Group (Worldwide Transportation). [3]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Societies

Archives


Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Newcastle upon Tyne," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newcastle upon Tyne, accessed 8 October, 2017.
  2. Wikipedia contributors,"Newcastle Upon Tyne" in "Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia", https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newcastle Upon Tyne, accessed 20 April 2017.
  3. Newcastle upon Tyne Key Facts, http://www.twri.org.uk/sites/default/files/twri/twri_KeyFacts_newcastle_Feb11.pdf, accessed 12 October, 2017.