Newberry County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
South Carolina
Newberry County

Guide to Newberry County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.


{{{link}}}


Newberry County, South Carolina
Map
Map of South Carolina highlighting Newberry County
Location in the state of South Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1795
County Seat Newberry
Courthouse


County Information

Newberry County, South Carolina Record Dates

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
  1915 1911  1915  1790  1785  1787 

County Courthouse

NewberrySC.jpg


Newberry County Courthouse
1226 College St.
Newberry, SC 29108

Clerk of Court
1226 College St.
P.O. Drawer 10
Newberry, SC 29108
Phone: 803-321-2110
Court and land records

Probate Court
1309 College St.
Newberry, SC 29108
Phone: 803-321-2118
Probate and marriage records

Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday

History

The origin of the county's name is unknown.[1] Many German immigrants settled in the Dutch Fork Area during the eighteenth century.

Parent County

1795--Newberry County was created in 1795 from District 96.
County seat: Newberry [2]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Pre-1881 General Sessions Indictments and pre-1870 Judgment Rolls were lost at an undetermined date, under unknown circumstances.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Bachman Chapel Garlington (hist.) Lowmans Crossroads Slighs
Beth Eden Gary Macedonia Smyrna
Boland Crossroads (hist.) Gilliam Spring (hist.) Maybinton Sondleys (hist.)
Boyd Glymphville Mount Bethel (hist.) Spearman (hist.)
Brickhouse Crossroads Hayne (hist.) Mudlick Stoney Hill
Browns Crossroads Helena Newberry Taylors Crossroads
Bush River Jalapa Oldtown (hist.) Trinity
Chappells Keitts Crossroads Peak Union
Cravenhill (hist.) Kibler Pomaria Vaughanville
Cromer Crossroads Kinards Prosperity Walton (hist.)
Deadfall Crossroads Lattakoo (hist.) Reuben (hist.) Wheeland
Elson Crossroads Little Mountain Saint Phillips Whitmire
Fairview Longshore Silverstreet



For further information (and links) on these populated places, please go to Populated Places, Newberry County, South Carolina

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Scnewberry.jpg

Research Guides

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png South Carolina African Americans

  • Greisser, Edith. African-American Cemeteries, Newberry, South Carolina. 2004?. FHL 975.739 V3g
  • Heinegg, Paul. "'Other Free' Heads of Household in the 1790 South Carolina Census, by County," Free African Americans.com. Includes free blacks in Newberry County.
  • Motes, Margaret Peckham. Blacks Found in the Deeds of Laurens & Newberry Counties, SC: 1785-1827 Listed in Deeds of Gift, Deeds of Sale, Mortgages, Born Free and Freed. Abstracted from Laurens County, SC Deed Books A-L and Newberry County, SC Deed Books A-G. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2002. Digital versions at Ancestry ($) and World Vital Records ($). Publisher's website.

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Belfast
  • Halfacre
  • Hardy
  • Moon-Dominick
  • Oak Grove
  • Piester and Gray
  • Pomaria - Pomaria

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
SCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
SCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
SCInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

There are more than 450 burial grounds in the county. To view a list, see Newberry County, South Carolina Cemeteries.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 9,342
1800 12,006 28.5%
1810 13,964 16.3%
1820 16,104 15.3%
1830 17,441 8.3%
1840 18,350 5.2%
1850 20,143 9.8%
1860 20,879 3.7%
1870 20,775 −0.5%
1880 26,497 27.5%
1890 26,434 −0.2%
1900 30,182 14.2%
1910 34,586 14.6%
1920 35,552 2.8%
1930 34,681 −2.4%
1940 33,577 −3.2%
1950 31,771 −5.4%
1960 29,416 −7.4%
1970 29,273 −0.5%
1980 31,242 6.7%
1990 33,172 6.2%
2000 36,108 8.9%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Newberry County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Newberry County, SC census assignments, including links to transcribed files The USGenWeb Census Project®

1790
  • Sease, David Edmond and Edith Greisser. Federal Census Newberry South Carolina 1790, 1800, 1810. 2007. FHL Collection 975.739 X2s
1800
  • Sease, David Edmond and Edith Greisser. Federal Census Newberry South Carolina 1790, 1800, 1810. 2007. FHL Collection 975.739 X2s
1810
  • Sease, David Edmond and Edith Greisser. Federal Census Newberry South Carolina 1790, 1800, 1810. 2007. FHL Collection 975.739 X2s
1820
  • Greisser, Edith. 1820 Federal Census Newberry, South Carolina. 200-?. FHL Collection 975.739 X2g 1820
1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518.

Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. Includes this county.
1830
  • Greisser, Edith. 1830 Federal Census Newberry County, South Carolina. 200-?. FHL Collection 975.739 X2g 1830
1840
  • Greisser, Edith. 1840 Federal Census Newberry County, South Carolina. 200-?. FHL Collection 975.739 X2g 1840
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. See South Carolina, Newberry District on page 142.
1850
  • Wicker, Eleanor Clyburn et al. Newberry County, South Carolina, 1850 Census with Genealogical Data on Many Families. Newberry, S.C.: Newberry County Historical Society, 1985. FHL Collection 975.739 X28w 1850
1860
  • Sease, David Edmond. 1860 Census, Newberry County, South Carolina. n.p.: n.p., n.d. FHL Collection 975.739 X2s 1860 Includes 1860 Mortality Schedule.
1870
  • Bundrick, Betty Mooney. Newberry County, South Carolina 1870 Census: With Mortality Schedules, Agriculture Schedules, Census Index. Chapin, S.C.: Dutch Fork Chapter of the South Carolina Geneal. Society, 1990. FHL Collection 975.739 X2b 1870
1880
  • Greisser, Edith and Old Newberry District Genealogical Society. 1880 Census Newberry County, SC: Including the Townships of Newberry, Caldwell, Maybinton, Cromer, Reeder, Floyd, Moon, Mendenhall, Stoney, Battery, Cannon & Heller. Clearwater, S.C.: Eastern Digital Resources, 2006. FHL Collection CD-ROM no. 5920

Church

The following Newberry County church records have been indexed on the International Genealogical Index:[4]

Church Baptisms Batch Marriages Batch
Newberry District 1766-1875 C535771 x x

Church of England (Anglican, Episcopal)

Gotoarrow.png See St. Paul's Parish.

Court

Newberry County has court records from 1776 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Newberry County was a part of the Ninety-Six District from 1785 - 1800. The records of the Ninety-Six District courts are housed in Abbeville County with the Clerk of Court.

The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for Newberry County.

The Family History Library collection includes books and microfilm regarding court records for Newberry County.

DNA

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Charleston County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.

Genealogy

  • [Abrams] Abrams, George Carter. The Abrams Family Genealogy, 1745-1979. Newberry, S.C.: G.C. Abrams, 1979. FHL Book 929.273 Ab83a.
  • [Adams] Johnson, Flora Adams. Ancestors of Adams - Adams, Proctor - Rudd. Typescript. Microfilmed 1990. FHL Film 1685454 Item 3.
  • [Adams] Morris, Scott. Fate Adams "Not Found Wanting:" The Life and Times and Genealogical Background of George Washington LaFayette Adams and His Outstanding Contribution to the Religious Heritage of Mitchell County and Wiregrass Georgia. Sale City, Ga.: S. Morris, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 Ad17mo.
  • [Adams] Traiteler, Eugene P. The Legacy of George Adams, c1748-1808, Patriot and Planter. Beaumont, Texas:E.P. Traiteler, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 Ad17t.
  • [Anderson] McNees, Lucien L. Descendants of Capt. Henry Anderson, Sr. of Newberry County, South Carolina. Ebenezer, Miss.: L.L. McNees, 1972. FHL 1035998 Item 2
  • [Arnold] Arnold, Jesse. Recollections of the Arnold Family: Ancestors and Children of Moses Arnold. Fort Wayne, Ind.: Press of W.D. Page, 1889. FHL Film 1697755 Item 14.
  • [Bedenbaugh] Vorwaller, Joyce B. Frank P. and Catha Lee Bedenbaugh: Their Ancestors and Descendants. Tallahassee, Fla.: Durra-Print, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 B39v.
  • [Bedenbaugh] Holcomb, Brent H. The Bedenbaugh-Betenbaugh Family: Descendants of Johann Michael Bidenbach from Germany to South Carolina, 1752. Columbia, S.C.: SCMAR, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B39h.
  • [Boozer] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Boozer-Gantt Bible Record of Newberry County, S.C. Family group sheets prepared 1995. FHL Film 2055239 Item 8.
  • [Boozer] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Daniel B. Boozer of Newberry County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 1998. FHL 929.273 B644pd
  • [Boozer] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Henry Boozer of Newberry County, South Carolina (1782-1859). Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 1998. FHL 1425160 Item 7
  • [Boozer] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of David Elijah Boozer, Sr. of Itawamba County, MS. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 B644pdL.
  • [Boozer] Phelps, Dallas L. Moore-Boozer Family of Ebenezer Methodist Church of Newberry County, S.C. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2007. FHL 929.273 M781pd; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Boozer] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Boozer from Newberry, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2007. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Boozer] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Hair-McCullough-Boozer Family of Newberry County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2008. FHL 929.273 B644pdn
  • [Bowers] Bowers, Ralph Lee. The Ancesters [sic] and Descendants of Levi and Elizabeth Ann Young Bowers. Greenville, S.C.: R.L. Bowers, 1968. FHL Book 929.273 B667b.
  • [Boyd] Sanders, Owen Kent. A History of the Boyd Family of South Carolina. Long Beach, Calif.: O.K. Sanders, [1990?]. FHL Book 929.273 B692s.
  • [Brooks] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Samuel Brooks of Newberry County, South Carolina (1819-1891). Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2006. FHL 929.273 B791p; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Brown] Brown, James Alvan and Jane Brown Bunn. The Sims Brown Family of Newberry County, 1750-1981. Newberry, S.C.: J.A. Brown, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 B812bs.
  • [Butler] Butler, Paul. My Ancestors, Butler, Bumgarner and Kinsmen of North and South Carolina. Tryon, N.C.: P. Butler, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 B976bp.
  • [Butler] Castleman, Thelma Shirley Butler. Our Butler Family. Weatherford, Okla.: T.S.B. Castleman, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 B976c.
  • [Butler] Dixon, Judith Holden. The Butlers: Ancestors and Descendants of James Thomas and Mary Elizabeth (Walker) Butler. Joplin, Mo.: J.H. Dixon, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 B976dj; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Caldwell] Hampton, Luther W. and Eleanor Clyburn Wicker. The Cromer Family: Beginning in 1752 with the Immigration from Germany to South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: L.W. Hampton, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 C88ha.
  • [Caldwell] McConnell, James F. "Peeling an Onion: Finding a Caldwell Ancestor," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 33, No. 1 (Winter 2005):3-8. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 33
  • [Calmes] Family Records of Larry D. Crose ca. 1675-1987. Typescript, 1988. FHL Book 1697648 Item 21.
  • [Cannon] Cannon, Charles. The Genealogy of the Cannon, Gates, Hill, Lucas Family. MSS. Microfilmed 2000. FHL Film 1425177 Item 1.
  • [Casey] Casey, Walter E. Notes and Comments on Casey and Allied Families. Houston, Texas: W.E. Casey, 1979. FHL Book 929.273 C268cw.
  • [Clary] Rowland, Ralph Shearer and Star Wilson Rowland. Clary Genealogy, Four Early American Lines and Related Families: Clary, Haly, Price, Tack, Deveron, Armstrong, Greene, Kuykendall, Westfall, Turner. Fairfax, Va.: Rowland, 1980. FHL Book 929.273 C563r.
  • [Coate] Park, Ernest S. and Linda Coate Dudick. The Ancestors and Descendants of Marmaduke Coate of South Carolina and Ohio. Gahannah, Ohio: L.C. Dudick, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 C632pe; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Conwill] Conwill, Joseph Dillard. Joseph Daniel Conwill of Mississippi and Oklahoma, 1852-1935. His Life, His Ancestors, His Descendants. 199-?. FHL Book 929.273 C769cj.
  • [Cook] Gould, Francis P. The Ancestry of the the [sic] Cook Family of Hale, Bibb and Perry counties [Alabama]. 1987. Update: Stone Mountain, Ga.: F.P. Gould, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 C771g; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Copeland] Jantz, Virginia Copeland. Copeland, Bostick, Patton and Allied Families: Including Martin, Clement, Thompson and Cobb. Waco, Texas: V.C. Jantz, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 C79j.
  • [Cothran] Cothran, William Benjamin and Samuel Alexander Cothran. Cothran-Chiles Notes and an Update After More than a Half-century. Aiken, S.C.: S.A. Cothran, 1992. FHL Book 929.273 C826c.
  • [Crenshaw] Crenshaw, Charles Edward. "A Sketch of Judge Anderson Crenshaw," Transactions of the Alabama Historical Society, Vol. 4 (1899-1903):301-305. FHL Book 976.1 C4t v. 4; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Crumly] Crumly, Jerry M. and Scott M. Crumly. Pioneer Ancestors, Crumly, Copeland, et al. Pensacola, Fla.: J.M. Crumley, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 C888cru.
  • [Davis] Mentzel, Laura W. Davis Families of the Savannah River Valley: Containing a Record of the Descendants of Van and Harmon Davis from 1725-1978, Covering the Counties of Newberry, Anderson, Pickens, Oconee Counties of South Carolina; Habersham, Franklin, Hart, Stephens, Polk, Paulding, Gwinnett Counties of Georgia. Salt Lake City, Utah: Hobby Press, 1978. FHL 929.273 D29mL
  • [Davis] Wheeler, Dona Davis, Nathan Wheeler, and Myrtelle Wheeler Molyneaux. Some Ancestors and Descendants of John Marion Davis and Eliza Caldonia Simpson. Long Beach, Calif.: M.W. Molyneaux, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 4582.
  • [DeWalt] McCrary, Clara Johnstone and Fanny A. Johnstone. The DeWalt Family, Connections and Traditions, 1746-1920. Typescript, 1921. Copy: FHL Film 1465996 Item 2.
  • [Dickey] Dickey, Grover C. John and Alexander Dickey, Immigrants, 1772. Oklahoma City, Okla.: C.G. Dickey, 1976. FHL Book 929.273 D559b.
  • [Dobbins] Dobbins, John William. Ancestry of John William Dobbins. Iva, S.C.: J.W. Dobbins, 198-?. FHL Book 929.273 D651dj.
  • [Dodgins] Cox, Allen B. A Summary of the Descendants of William Dodgins, Sr. of Newberry Co., South Carolina (ca. 1740-1804). Austin, Texas: A.B. Cox, 1985. FHL 929.273 D678a; digital version at Internet Archive
  • [Duncan] Duncan, George O. and N.R. Roy. Marshall Duncan, the First and Some of His Descendants. Typescript. Donated 1961. FHL Film 896607 Item 3.
  • [Duncan] Beeler, Vernon R. and Hazel Halliburton. The Nicholas Dickson, 1730 Prior to 1876, Samuel Dunkin (Duncan), 1722 - 1770, Connectionl. 2 vols. Salt Lake City, Utah: V.R. Beeler, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 D561bv and v. 2; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Duncan] Russell, Judith F. "Margaret Smith Edmunson Duncan Parham (1763-1836)," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 32, No. 4 (Fall 2004):194-197. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 32
  • [Duncan] Duncan, Ida B. Dunkin/Duncan Family History. Piqua, Ohio: I.B. Duncan, n.d. FHL Film 1697655 Item 52.
  • [Durrett] Harter, Mrs. Bert. "Durrett Family," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1971):3-9; Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):99-104; Vol. 15, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1971):174-180; Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):279-286; Vol. 16, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1972):29-33; Vol. 16, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1972):96-103; Vol. 16, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1972):173-178; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1972):268-274; Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1973):33-41; Vol. 17, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1973):101-106. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 15 (1971)-v. 17 (1973).
  • [Edmunson] See also Smith.
  • [Edwards] Quisenberry, Marie Edwards. The Edwards Family of Early Saint Joseph County, Indiana. Typescript. Microfilmed 1990. FHL Film 1674172 Item 3.
  • [Elmore] Elmore, J. Pitts. Elmore Ancestry. Modesto, Calif.: J.P. Elmore, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 EL64ej.
  • [Elmore] Hirtzel, Richard D. Mathias & Charity Elmore of Burlington County, New Jersey; Frederick County, Virginia; Berkley County/District, South Carolina. Pleasant Grove, Utah: R.D. Hirtzel, 1999. FHL Book 929.273 EL64h.
  • [Elmore] Hirtzel, Richard D. The Family of Joseph Elmore of Newberry County, South Carolina and Miami County, Ohio. Pleasant Grove, Utah: R.D. Hirtzel, 2002. FHL 929.273 EL64hrd
  • [Elmore] Gick, Julie P. Notes on the Early Elmores of Newberry County. New York, N.Y.: J.P. Gick, 2003. FHL Book 929.273 EL64g
  • [Floyd] Schertz, Mary Fay Campbell. Descendants of John and Nancy Floyd. Provo, Utah: J. Grant Stevenson, 1973. FHL Book 929.273 F669s; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Gary] Gary--Thomas--Preston Family Bible Records, ca. 1790-1919. MSS. Microfilmed 1991. FHL Vault US/CAN Film 1697548 Item 2.
  • [Glasgow] Glasgow, Harold G. All My Life: A Family Record of the Glasgow, Hunter, Williams, McKinney, Hightower, Prater, Harlan, and Related Families 1735-2008. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 2008. FHL Book 929.273 G462g v. 1.
  • [Glenn] DeVos, Julius E. and Florence M. Baker. The John Glenn Family. Typescript. Microfilmed 1981. FHL Film 1307506 Item 35.
  • [Gordon] Marshall, Erminie Northcutt. Gordons of the Deep South. Austin, Texas: [E.N. Marshall], 1961. FHL Collection 929.273 G653ma
  • [Gray] Hughes, T.P. The Paternal and Maternal Ancestors, Uncles, Aunts, and Cousins of Mary Parker Hughes Gray Chapter. Typescript, National Library, D.A.R. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Film 860452 Item 4.
  • [Griffin] Harris, S. Henry. The Ancestry of S. Henry Harris, Jr. North Potomac, Md.: S.H. Harris, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 H243s.
  • [Hair] DeHuff, Elizabeth Willis. Aid in Genealogical Research on the Hair Family of Barnwell County, South Carolina. Augusta, Ga.: E.W. DeHuff, 1966. FHL Book 929.273 H127d.
  • [Hair] Hair, Tony L. and Joseph Eddie Hair. The Peter Hair Family. Batesburg, S.C.: T.L. Hair, 1998. FHL Book 929.273 H127ht; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Hair] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Hair-McCullough-Boozer Family of Newberry County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2008. FHL 929.273 B644pdn
  • [Hazel] Andrea, Leonardo. Hazel--Hazle. Typescript, Polk County Historical Library, Bartow, Fla. Microfilmed 1975. FHL Film 978080 Item 2.
  • [Herron] Millis, Harriett Harding and William A. Millis. The Family of Thomas Herron March 12, 1755 - October 5, 1936. Crawfordsville, Ind.: n.p., 1936. FHL Vault US/CAN Film 2401865 Item 4.
  • [Hodges] Meek, Melton P. "Hodges, volume 2 - James Hodges/Martha (will: 1787 Newberry Co., SC - Halifax Co., Va.) through 'Clues to Use It' by Geraldine E. Cook," Meek Genealogical Collection. Online at FamilySearch.
  • [Hoggle] Hoggle, Bertha Jean Thomas Johnson. Our Hoggle Family: Descendants of John Frederick Hoggle, Immigrant from Germany to South Carolina, 1752. Greensboro, Ala.: B.J. Hoggle, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 H679hb.
  • [Hortman] Mitchell, Walter William. Ancestry of Walter William Mitchell, III 1740-1954. Typescript. Microfilmed 1991. FHL Film 1697448 Item 51.
  • [Jenkins] MacVeigh, George E. The Issacher & Esther Pearson Jenkins Family of Elkhart and St. Joseph Counties, Indiana. Typescript. FHL Film 1674172 Item 11.
  • [Johnson] Johnson, A.M. Genealogy of a Branch of the Johnson Family and Connections, Incidents and Legends. Chattanooga, Tenn.: A.M. Johnson, 1893. FHL Film 1206420 Item 1.
  • [Jones] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of William A. Jones of Edgefield and Saluda County, S.C. 2003. FHL 1573699 Item 109
  • [Keasler] Winans, Inez. The Keasler Book: Descendants of Henry Kesler, Planter, of Newberry County, South Carolina. 1977. FHL 929.273 K219a
  • [Kinard] Kinard, S. Bert, Gayle DeGraffenried, James A. Middlebrooks and Lois McMichael. Barney C. Kinard (7 May 1820 - 29 Nov. 1893), Prudence Jane Vickers Kinard (22 Oct. 1834 - 23 Mar. 1920): A Family History. Macon, Ga.: n.p., 1980. FHL Book 929.273 K573ks.
  • [Kinard] Dupree, James William. Some Descendants of John Kinard (1755-1844/1850) South Carolina Revolutionary War Soldier: Also Included is Lineage Data on These Surnames, Battle, Chambliss, Collins, Daniel, Dupree, Purifoy, Varner, Waggoner and Webb. Americus, Ga.: J.W. Dupree, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 K573d; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Kuhns] Brown, Kathleen S. Family History, Kuhns-Koon-Koons-Kohn-Coon Kith and Kin, Suber-Wedaman-Miller-Folk-Hickman-Craft-Cash. Gordo, Ala.: K.S. Brown, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 K955bk.
  • [Langford] Langford, George Shealy. Langfords in America Sketches on Early Arrivals and Migrations: Genealogical Recording on Descendants from Early Saluda River, South Carolina Families (Lexington, Newberry, Saluda and Old Edgefield Counties), 1773-1975: Some Related Families [of] Holley, Waters, Shealy, Timms, Robertson. College Park, Md.: Langford, 1977. FHL 929.273 L263a
  • [Langford] Langford, George Shealy. Sketches About Langfords, 1632-1980. Book 2. College Park, Md.: G.S. Langford, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 L263L.
  • [Large] Cagle, Olene Large. The Family Tree of Samuel Large and Sallie Gilliam Large and Descendants. Maryville, Tenn.: O.L. Cagle, 2003. FHL Book 929.273 L323c.
  • [Lightsey] Davis, Patricia Lightsey. The Lightsey Family History: From South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas. Daleville, Miss.: P.L. Davis, [1990?]. FHL Book 929.273 L626d.
  • [Long] Evans, Eytive Long. A Documented History of the Long Family, Switzerland to South Carolina, 1578-1956, Including Allied Families a Documentary Record of the Long (Lang) Family of Newberry, Edgefield, and Saluda Counties, South Carolina, Including Many Allied Families. 1956. FHL 929.273 L85e
  • [McCullough] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of George McCullough of Newberry County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2001. FHL 929.273 M139p
  • [McCullough] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Hair-McCullough-Boozer Family of Newberry County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2008. FHL 929.273 B644pdn
  • [McDonald] Burns, Norman. The McDonald Family: Early Settlers in Wayne Township, Darke County, Ohio. Arlington, Va.: N. Burns, 1970. FHL Book 929.273 M145b; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [McKinsey] Barry, Ruby Mundell. The McKinsey's, McKensey, McKensie, McKinsey Family Descendants of George K. McKinsey and His Wife Sarak (Thomas) McKinsey of Newberry County, South Carolina, and Warren County, Ohio, and the Migrations of Their Children into Indiana. Indianapolis, Ind., 1900.
  • [Marbut] Marbut, Jason David. The Marbut Family: Includes - Marbutt, Marbert & the Original Spelling of Meerbott. 2 vols. Covington, Texas: J.D. Marbut, 2009. FHL Books 929.273 M329mj v. 1 and v. 2.
  • [Moore] Andrea, Leonardo. "Folder no. 639. Moore of Newberry Co., S.C.," Genealogical Folders in the Leonardo Andrea Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 1974. FHL Film 954556.
  • [Moore] Harrell, Thelma. The Cannon Creek Moores of Newberry, S.C., 1767-1961. Typescript. Microfilmed 1974. FHL 929.273 M781ht
  • [Moore] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of William Moore of Ireland and Newberry County, S.C. (1730-1824). Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2003. FHL 929.273 M787p
  • [Moore] Phelps, Dallas L. Moore-Boozer Family of Ebenezer Methodist Church of Newberry County, S.C. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2007. FHL 929.273 M781pd; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online
  • [Moore] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of William Moore (1730-1824) of Newberry County, South Carolina: Revolutionary War Patriot. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2007. FHL 929.273 M787pd
  • [Mote] Motes, Jesse Hogan and Margaret Peckham Motes. Laurens and Newberry Counties, South Carolina, Saluda and Little River Settlements, 1749-1775 Neighborhood Maps and Abstracts of Colonial Surveys and Memorials of Land Titles; Including a Case Study, Jonathan Mote 1727-1763, Migration to Little River. Greenville, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1994. FHL 975.73 R2m
  • [Murdock] Malone, Royleta Clopton. Hamilton Murdock and Some of His Descendants, 1736-2001: Other Surnames Include Ashley, Banister, Cain, & Malone. Hemet, Calif.: R.C. Malone, 2001. FHL Book 929.273 M941mr.
  • [Nabers] Nabers, Thomas Augustus and Deborah Lynne Gist Nabers. James Monroe Nabers Family. Muscle Shoals, Ala.: T.A. Nabers, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 N112n.
  • [Nabers] Nabors, Grover Cooley, William Mengert Nabors, and John Whitman Monroe Neal. Neighbours, Neighbors, Nabours, Nabors, Nabers. 2 vols. Dallas, Texas: G.C.T. Nabors, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 N316na and v. 2.
  • [Neighbours] See Nabers.
  • [Nichols] Nichols, John T. Nichols: George and Elizabeth of Newberry District, South Carolina and Their Descendants, 1755-2002. Montgomery, Ala.: J.T. Nichols, 2002. FHL 929.273 N516nj
  • [Parham] See also Smith.
  • [Pearson] Pearson, Geo. M. Benjamin and Esther Furnas Pearson: Their Ancestors and Descendants. Los Angeles, Calif.: Times-Mirror Printing & Binding House, 1941. FHL Book 929.273 P317p.
  • [Pearson] Diller, Corinne Hanna. Quaker Pearsons, 1999. Houston, Texas: C.H. Diller, 1999. FHL Book 929.273 P318d 1999 v. 1.
  • [Perkins] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Thomas and Jacob Perkins of Newberry County, S.C. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 1992. FHL 929.273 A1 no. 7700
  • [Perkins] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Desc. of Thomas Perkins, Sr. of Orange County, North Carolina. MSS., 2001. FHL Film 1440559 Item 17.
  • [Perkins] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Jacob Perkins of Newberry County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2009. FHL ?
  • [Pettypool] Hartsough, Carolyn S. "The William Pettypool Family of Southside Virginia: Lineage Reconstruction Based on Current Review of Evidence," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 47, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2003):57-75; Vol. 47, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2003):139-146. Digital version at American Ancestors ($); FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • [Pitts] Pierce, Doreecie Pitts. My Pitts Ancestors. Typescript. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Film 873445.
  • [Plunkett] Ivy, Emma Plunkett. Ten Thousand Plunketts: A Partially Documented Record of the Families of Charles Plunkett of Newberry County, South Carolina, and His Brother Peter Plunkett of Old Barnwell District, South Carolina, and Related Families. 2 vols. Atlanta, Ga.: Peachtree Letter Service, 1969. FHL Book 929.273 P741i v. 1 and v. 2.Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Pool] Owens, Tench Pool. Tench Carson Pool, His Ancestors and Descendants. Clinton, S.C.: T.P. Owens, 1986. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 5703.
  • [Pratt] Smith, Presley Edward. The Descendants of Jonathan Pratt and Related Families. Dallas, Texas: P.E. Smith, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 P888s.
  • [Proctor] Johnson, Flora Adams. Ancestors of Adams - Adams, Proctor - Rudd. Typescript. Microfilmed 1990. FHL Film 1685454 Item 3.
  • [Ragin] Fuhlhage, Dorothy. Thomas Reagan Family. Benedict, Kansas: D.V. Fuhlhage, 1992. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 7871.
  • [Ramage] Ramage, Martis Donald. South Carolina Revolutionary Patriot, Joseph Ramage, of Laurens County, South Carolina. MSS. FHL Book 921.73 R14s.
  • [Ramage] Dedication of the Memorial in the Memory of Joseph Ramage and His Family Duncan's Creek Presbyterian Church Cemetery, Larens County, South Carolina, October 11, 1987, 2:00 p.m. 1986. FHL Film 1320635 Item 15.
  • [Rhodes] Rhodes, Hollis H. Rhodes. Oklahoma City, Okla.: H.H. Rhodes, 1982. FHL Book 929.273 R346rhh.
  • [Richey] Sorensen, Paul Wayne. The Richey-Hansen-Adair-Hougaard and Related Families. Flagstaff, Ariz.: P.W. Sorensen, 1982?. FHL Book 929.273 R399s.
  • [Rikard] Franks, Ima Whitman. All About the Rikards. Shreveport, La.: I.W. Franks, 198-?. FHL Book 929.273 R449f.
  • [Rudd] Johnson, Flora Adams. Ancestors of Adams - Adams, Proctor - Rudd. Typescript. Microfilmed 1990. FHL Film 1685454 Item 3.
  • [Rutherford] Rutherford--Mathis--Gilmore Families, ca. 1734-1926. Typescript. Microfilmed 1964. FHL Film 376971 Item 26.
  • [Singley] Soule, Mary Lou. Martin Singley in South Carolina. MSS. FHL Book 929.273 Si64sm.
  • [Slater] Bell, Phyllis R. Slaters - A Genealogy of the Known Descendants of John D. Slater and Harriet Slater. Cawker City, Kan.: Cawker City Ledger, 1972. FHL Book 929.273 SL15b.
  • [Smith] Russell, Judith F. "Margaret Smith Edmunson Duncan Parham (1763-1836)," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 32, No. 4 (Fall 2004):194-197. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 32
  • [Summer] Hampton, Luther W. The Summer Book: The Continuing Story of this Family that Touches Nearly Every Other Family in the Dutch Fork Area of South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: L.W. Hampton, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 Su64h.
  • [Taylor] Taylor, C. Otis. Taylor: Beginning with the Dutch Fork Settlement. Newberry, S.C.: C.O. Taylor, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 T212tc.
  • [Taylor] Taylor, Charles Jackson. Jackson Taylor and Mary J. Dalloz Family Ancestors, Descendants and Allied Families. Fort Myers, Fla.: C.J. Taylor, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 T215tc.
  • [Thomas] Thomsa, Sylvia Lucille Spearman. The Thomas Family History: For Our Sons Tracy Seborn Thomas, Darrell Mason Thomas. Baton Rouge, La.: S.L.S. Thomas, 1982. FHL Book 929.273 T364ts; see also Index Aid: FHL Book 929.273 T364tss index; see also Index FHL Book 929.273 T364tss..
  • [Thomas] Hoggle, Bertha Jean Thomsa Johnson. The Families of John and Dempsey (Pool) Thomas. Greensboro, Ala.: B.J. Hoggle, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 T364h.
  • [Thomas] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Timothy Thomas, Sr. of Newberry County, South Carolina (1747-1825). Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2003. FHL 1440709 Item 21
  • [Tinsley] Wilkinson, Sue Tinsley. John Tinsley is My Name ... Wills Point, Texas: S.T. Wilkinson, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 T497w.
  • [Towles] Andrea, Leonardo. Towles in S.C. Typescript. Microfilmed 1975. FHL Film 978080 Item 1.
  • [Uldrick] Bratcher, R. Wayne. The Uldrick Book. n.p.: R.W. Bratcher, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 UL2b.
  • [Valentine] Valentine, John Jackson. Family Records of John Jackson Valentine. Memphis, Tenn.: J.J. Valentine, 1957. FHL Book 929.273 V234vj.
  • [Welch] Welch, Brian E. Welch Records in Sumter District and Other Areas of South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: B.E. Welch, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 W442wb.
  • [Whitten] Alexander, Virginia Wood. Whitten and Allied Families. Columbia, Tenn.: V.W. Alexander & W.C. Whitten, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 W618a.
  • [Wicker] Wicker, Eleanor Clyburn. Our Wicker Family: Descendants of Matthias Wicker, Immigrant from Germany to South Carolina. Greenville, Miss.: D.H. Wicker, 1933. FHL Book 929.273 W632we.
  • [Wicker] Harwell, Carolyn Lewis. Christian's Children: A Branch of the Wicker Tree. S.C.: C.L. Harwell, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 W632h.
  • [Williams] Cannon, Charles. The Genealogy of the Cannon, Gates, Hill, Lucas Family. MSS. Microfilmed 2000. FHL Film 1425177 Item 1.
  • [Winchester] Crowe, Winifred Winchester. Our Winchester Generation, 1975. Typescript. Microfilmed 1978. FHL Collection 1036648 Item 25
  • [Yon] Bennett, Judy. The Ancestors of Donald Ferdinand Bennett (1930-1995). Panama City, Fla.: J.B. Bennett, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 B439bjb.
  • [Yon] Bennett, Judy. The Descendants of George Adam Yon. Panama City, Fla.: J.B. Bennett, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 Y8b.


  • Summer, George Leland. Newberry County, South Carolina Historical and Genealogical. Newberry, S.C.: n.p., 1950. FHL 975.739 H2sg; digital version at World Vital Records ($).
  • Wicker, Eleanor Clyburn, Glenda Wood Bundrick, Mary Coe Kerr and Newberry County Historical Society. Newberry County, South Carolina, 1850 Census with Genealogical Data on Many Families. Newberry, S.C.: Newberry County Historical Society, 1985. FHL Collection 975.739 X28w 1850

Land and Property

Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information abou types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.

Genealogists have platted the early land records of Newberry County.[5]

Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records for Newberry County:


Tracing Land Currently in Newberry County originating in Edgefield County with Parent Counties and Districts [6]
Date Government Office  
1868-present Newberry County
1800-1868 Newberry District88
1785-1800 Newberry County (old) *
1769-1785 Ninety-Six District
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
 

*
Small portion ceded to Lexington County in 1788

 **
Small portion ceded to Lexington District in 1808


  • Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants

Local Histories

  • O'Neall, John Belton. The Annals of Newberry: In Two Parts. Newberry, S.C.: Aull & Houseal, 1892. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • O'Neall, John Belton and John Abney Chapman. The Annals of Newberry in Two Parts  (Baltimore, Maryland: Clearfield, 1995). 861 pages. Part first by John Belton O'Neall, The Annals of Newberry, Historical, Biographical and Anecdotical, originally published in 1859. The 2nd part by John Abney Chapman, The Annals of Newberry; Historical, Biographical and Anecdotical ; also Religious, Medical and Literary, and includes biographical information and Civil War rosters. Civil War pages 374-445, 455-560 & 803-804. Digital copies at Google books and Internet Archives. Book at FHL 975.739 H2o and Other Libraries.
  • Pope, Thomas H. The History of Newberry County, South Carolina. 2 volumes. (Columbia, S.C.: University of South Carolina Press, 1973).Contents: v. 1. 1749-1860. This volume deals with the settlement of the area, establishment of its ecomony, emigration from the district, changing the minds of the people because of the pressures of slavery, and the development of the county. Vol 2: 1860-1990. Overcoming the adversity of war and economic depression...  Book at FHL Collection  and Other Libraries
Reviews:
  1. By Daniel W. Hollis in The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 75, No. 1 (Jan. 1974):53-55. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  2. By Eric Russell Lacy in The Journal of Southern History, Vol. 40, No. 2 (May 1974):341-341. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  3. By W.W. Abbot in The Journal of American History, Vol. 60, No. 4 (Mar. 1974):1096. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  4. By Richard K. MacMaster in The American Historical Review, Vol. 79, No. 4 (Oct. 1974):1251-1252. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Pope, Thomas H. The History of Newberry County, South Carolina. Vol. II: 1860-1990. FHL Collection 975.739 H2p v. 2.
Reviews:
  1. By Allan D. Charles in The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 94, No. 2 (Apr. 1993):148-149. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  2. By G. Wayne King in The Journal of Southern History, Vol. 60, No. 1 (Feb. 1994):145-147. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Summer, George Leland. Newberry County, South Carolina : Historical and Genealogical Annals. (Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co., 1980, ©1950.). 483 pages. Originally, interested in making researches on Summer family and other pioneer families, added historical information.Book found at FHL 975.739 H2sg and Other Libraries.

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Newberry County for European settlers included:[7]

Military

General
  • "State militia court martial, 1818," Old Newberry District Quarterly, Winter 2002, Volume 11, Issue 4. Old Newberry District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Newberry, SC.
Revolutionary War
  • "Pensioners in county, 1840," Old Newberry District Quarterly, Winter 2002, Volume 11, Issue 4. Old Newberry District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Newberry, SC.
  • "Daniel Dewalt, Sr., Tory in War," Old Newberry District Quarterly, Summer 1999, Volume 8, Issue 2. Old Newberry District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Newberry, SC.
  • "Loyalists in the Southern Campaign," Old Newberry District Quarterly, Spring 1999, Volume 8, Issue 1. Old Newberry District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Newberry, SC.
  • "Revolutionary War claims," Dutch Fork Digest, July 1989, Volume 4, Issue 3. Dutch Fork Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Chapin, SC.
  • "Stub incidents, 1786," Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, December 1948, Volume 82, Issue 12. Daughters of the American Revolution " Washington D.C. FHL Collection
  • "Revolutionary soldiers, Newberry," American Irish Historical Society Journal, 1913, Volume 12. American Irish Historical Society Journal: New York, NY. FHL Collection
War of 1812
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Newberry County, p. 187. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Civil War service men from Newberry County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regimens that were formed of many men from Newberry County:

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company A (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers) and Company C (also known as the Charleston Sharpshooters and Palmetto Guards)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (McCreary's) (1st Provisional Army), Company B (also known as Rhett's Guards) and Company L (also know as Rhett's Guards)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company G (also known as Bonham's Light Dragoons and Lipscomb's Troop)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Rifles, Company A
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-64), Company F
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company D
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Lauren's) (James'), Company D
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company F (also known as the Chestnut Light Artillery)
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company B (also known as Williams Guards), Company C - Prosperity (also known as Frog Level and Pickens Guards), Company E (also known as Quitman Rifles), Company F, and Captain J. N. Brown Company
- 4th Battalion, South Carolina Reserve, Company A and Company C
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troop Junior Reserves, Company H
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's), Company K
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company C
- 5th Battalion, South Carolina Rifles, Company A
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company D
- 6th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Meriwether's), Company G
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company H
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company C, Company D, and Company E
- 9th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves, Company F
- 13th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D, Company G, and Company H
- 15th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company I
- 19th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 20th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company G, Reorganized Company F, and Reorganized Company M

Other Resources

  • O'Neall, John Belton and John Abney Chapman. The Annals of Newberry in Two Parts (Baltimore, Maryland] : Clearfield, 1995). 861 pages. Part first by John Belton O'Neall, The Annals of Newberry, Historical, Biographical and Anecdotal, originally published in 1859. The 2nd part by John Abney Chapman, The Annals of Newberry; Historical, Biographical and Anecdotal; also Religious, Medical and Literary, and includes biographical information and Civil War rosters. Civil War pages 374-445, 455-560 & 803-804. Digital copies at Google books and Internet Archives. Book at FHL 975.739 H2o and Other Libraries.

Newspapers

Historic

The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Newberry County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:

  • Old Newberry District Quarterly

Probate

Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[8] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available.

Estate indexes are available on microfilm from 1785-1985 at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History, with actual records from 1785 to circa 1889. Another microfilm of this estate index from 1785-1945 available through the Family History Library. FHL Film 29262 A printed estate index has also been published:

  • Glenda Bundrick [and] Ann (Smith) King, comp. Newberry, SC probate index, 1785-1992. Newberry, South Carolina: Bundrick and King, 1992?. FHL Book 975.739 P22bg

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Newberry District/County estate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Newberry County.

For advice on Newberry tax records, see:

  • Tax Record Tip, Deed Tip, Old Newberry District Quarterly, Vol. 16, No. 1 (Spring 2007).

Original sources

Tax records, kept at the county courthouse, survive. Copies of years 1945, 1949: FHL Film 24258.

Published abstracts

  • 1840 - 1840 Tax Return for Newberry District, The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Winter 1990):3-10; Vol. 18, No. 2 (Spring 1990):90-96. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 18
  • 1840 - Tax List, 1840, Old Newberry District Quarterly, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Spring 2002).
  • 1851 - General Tax List, 1851, Old Newberry District Quarterly, Vol. 10, No. 3 (Fall 2001).
  • 1911 - Taxation of Unmarried Men, Banning of Tights on Stage, and Beach Apparel Restrictions, 1911, Newberry County Historical and Museum Society Bulletin (Fall 2007).
  • 1913 - Taxes, 1913, Newberry County Historical and Museum Society Bulletin (Fall 2008).

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.

Birth

State-wide birth registration began in 1915.  For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health.  The Newberry County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information.  For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage

In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.

The Newberry County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.

Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information.  See South Carolina Newspapers.

Marriages and Marriage Substitutes - Indexes

  • Marriages of Lexington, Newberry, and Orangeburgh [sic] Counties, South Carolina by Martha H. Spivey [9] WorldCat - index
  • 1858-1877 - Early Newberry: Abstracts from Newberry Newspapers [10] FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  • 1874-1877 - Early Newberry: Abstracts from Herald and Newberry Herald, 1874, 1875, 1876, 1877 by Edith Greisser [11] WorldCat - index
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in  some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death

State-wide death registration began in 1915.  For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Newberry County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years.  For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths and Death Substitutes - Indexes and Records

Obituaries

Archives, Libraries, and Museums

Libraries

Newberry County Library Sysyem 
From the Library's main page you can search the catalog.

  • Hal Kohn Memorial Library - Main Library
    1100 Friend Street
    Newberry, South Carolina 29108-3416
    Telephone: (803)276-0854
  • Whitmire War Memorial Library
    1510 Church Street
    Whitmire, South Carolina
    29178-1431
    Telephone: (803)694-3961 

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Museums

  • Newberry County Museum
    1503 Nance Street
    Post Office Box 186
    Newberry, SC 29108
    The Society aims to preserve and document the history of Newberry County. We strive to foster a love of local history, to collect, preserve and display historical artifacts, books, manuscripts, charts, photographs, genealogies and similar items.

Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage 

Old Newberry District Chapter of the South Carolina Genealogical Society
ONDC was organized November 20, 1991 and received its charter from the South Carolina Genealogical Society (SCGS). Its purpose is  to educate and promote interest in genealogy and the history of one's ancestors and Newberry County; also to provide a forum for the exchange of genealogical and historical information.

The Newberry County Library is the repository for materials donated to the chapter. All donated records, books and microfilm are deposited there.

The Society publishes a quartery journal, and sponsors publications of interest to Newberry County researchers. The site contains a Newberry County Surname Registry and other resourses of interest.

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Dutch Fork/Irmo South Carolina
7449 Broad River Rd
Irmo, Newberry, South Carolina, United States
Phone: (803) 276-8716
Hours: T-W 7PM-9PM
Attention: new phone number (803) 732-0251 if you'd like to leave a message

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Newberry County, South Carolina

References

  1. "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  4. Hugh Wallis, IGI Batch Numbers for South Carolina, USA,
  5. Mike Becknell, "Overview of South Carolina Genealogical Research," Group Tour of the South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 10 May 2011.
  6. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  8. Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
  9. Spivey, Martha H., Marriages of Lexington, Newberry, and Orangeburgh Counties, South Carolina, Lexington, SC (P.O. Box 1262, Lexington 29072): WeSearch Publications, ©1999.
  10. Greisser, Edith, Early Newberry: Abstracts from Newberry Newspapers, Newberry, SC: Old Newberry District Chapter, SCGS, 2002?.
  11. Greisser, Edith, Early Newberry: Abstracts from Herald and Newberry Herald, 1874, 1875, 1876, 1877, Cross Hill, S.C.?: Edith Greisser, 2003.
  12. Greisser, Edith, Early Newberry: Abstracts from Newberry Newspapers, Newberry, SC: [Old Newberry District Chapter, SCGS, 2002?].
  13. Greisser, Edith, Early Newberry: Abstracts from Herald and Newberry Herald, 1874, 1875, 1876, 1877, [Cross Hill, S.C.?: Edith Greisser], 2003.
  14. Greisser, Edith, Coroner's inquisitions, Newberry County, South Carolina, 1879-1893, [S.l.: s.n.], 2004

...