New Windsor Holy Trinity, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
New Windsor Holy Trinity

Guide to New Windsor Holy Trinity, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

New Windsor Holy Trinity, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred New Windsor Borough
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Windsor
Registration District Windsor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

New Windsor Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1843 from a part of Clewer Ancient Parish. No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for New Windsor Holy Trinity.[1] To find records see the neighboring parishes of Clewer, New Windsor, and Bray.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

New Windsor Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
New Windsor Holy Trinity Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

References

Websites