New Village (west), Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to New Village (west)l, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
NEW-VILLAGE, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Howden, Hunsley-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, 2½ miles(S. W.) from North Cave; containing 160 inhabitants. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of NEW VILLAGE (WEST) exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NEW VILLAGE (WEST) CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding New Village (West) and comprising the whole ancient parish of Howden to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HOWDEN PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1603.
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 415-416. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51180
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.