To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

New Sleaford, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to New Sleaford, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

New Sleaford, Lincolnshire
Sleaford St Denys Lincolnshire.jpg
Sleaford St Denys Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flaxwell
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aswardhurn with Lafford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Sleaford; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SLEAFORD, NEW (St. Denis), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Flaxwell, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 18 miles (S. S. E.) from Lincoln, and 116 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for the Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

New Sleaford St Denys or Denis is an Ancient Parish for the market town of Sleaford.

The present church was built in 1271 with a local merchant as patron. The church has undergone restoration in subsequent centuries and the churchyard was enlarged at the end of the 18th century.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

This parish was in the Sleaford sub District of Sleaford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

New Sleaford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Lincolnshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1990 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Lincolnshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Lincolnshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr Index = Lincolnshire Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Lincolnshire Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
New Sleaford Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1990
1538-1990
1538-1990
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1911
1537-1911
1537-1970
FMP Banns

1647-1911


FMP Marr Index

1700-1837


FMP Marr

1628-1837


JOIN

1538-1837


NBI



1754-2002
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Lincolnshire Census

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Turland, Michael.  A Victorian Dynasty in the Building and Contracting Industry.  History and family tree of William Kirk and wife unknown, with the following surnames; Knight, Chatwin, Parry, Peake, Yerburgh, Angrave, Stanley, Murr, Clay, Lee, Vickers, Patterson, Snow, Heath, Ingoldby, Cottingham, from 1749-1906.  Article in Linolnshire Family History Magazine, vol.18.no.2. pages 81-86, FHL Ref. 942.53 D25Lf

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/NewSleaford/


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 September 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk