New Radford, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to New Radford, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|New Radford, Nottinghamshire|
Cinderhill Christ Church Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Radford|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
RADFORD (St. Peter), a parish, and the head of a union, in the S. division of the wapentake of Broxton, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 1 mile (W. by N.) from Nottingham. This parish, which was part of the ancient forest of Sherwood. The old village is situated on the river Leen; the new one forms a modern suburb stretching from the western limits of Nottingham, on the Derby and Alfreton roads. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.
Radford's development created a number of parishes in New Radford and this page may refer to more than one parish:
Christ Church Cinderhill is within the New Radford area and was built as a chapel of ease to Basford, Nottinghamshire and the subsequent ecclesiastical parish included Kensington, New Coleorton, and part of Hyson-Green Gazeteer reference to the parish
Southwell and Nottingham Church history project have researched this parish Cinderhill Christ Church
The church of Christ Church Cinderhill Nuthall Road has been designated as a grade II listed building listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Radford
Cinderhill, Nottinghamshire registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Cinderhill Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..