New London County, Connecticut Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Connecticut
New London County

Guide to New London County, Connecticut ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

New London County, Connecticut
Map
Map of Connecticut highlighting New London County
Location in the state of Connecticut
Facts
Founded May 12, 1726
County Seat New London
Courthouse
Address 181 State Street
New London, CT 06320
Phone: 860.447.5204
New London County Website


County Information

Description

  • Named for the City of London, England.
  • The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse

  • Clerk of the Superior Court, has divorce records
  • Town Clerks, have birth, marriage, death and land records from 1659 and burial records from 1893.[2]
  • There is no county government.
  • The government is at the town level.

New London County, Connecticut

Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: New London County, Connecticut

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Bozrah 1786,
Colchester 1698,
Franklin 1786,
Groton 1705,
Lebanon 1700,
Lisbon 1786,
Lyme 1665,
Montville 1786,
New London 1646,
Norwich 1659,
Preston 1687,
Stonington 1649,
Voluntown 1721

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County:One of four original counties, created 10 May 1666 from the Colonial lands. [3]
  • County Seat: has none since 1960 and the county was created 1666.

For animated maps illustrating Connecticut county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Connecticut County Boundary Maps" (1643-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Linkpendium, Biographies, Oral Histories, Diaries, Memoirs, Genealogies, Correspondence, New London County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Duane Hamilton Hurd, History of New London County, Connecticut with biographical sketches of many of its pioneers and prominent men, (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania : J.W. Lewis & Co., 1882).  Available online at Google Books, (accessed 3 Mar 2011), and Internet Archives, (accessed 3 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.65 H2h, or FHL US/CAN Film 1000152 Item 1.
  • Benjamin Tinkham Marshall, A modern history of New London County, Connecticut, (New York, New York : Lewis Historical Pub. Co., 1922).  Includes index, in volume 3. 
  1. Volume 1 available at Google Books, (accessed 3 Mar 2011), and Internet Archives, (accessed 3 Mar 2011). 
  2. Volume 2 available at Internet Archives, (accessed 3 Mar 2011). 
  3. Volume 3 available at Internet Archives, (accessed 3 Mar 2011). 
  4. A database for this book can be found at ancestry.com$, (accessed 3 Mar 2011). 
  5. All three volumes are available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Books 974.65 H2m, and FHL US/CAN Films- Volume 1:1035733 Item 10, Volume 2: 1035727 Item 13, and Volume 3: 1035733 Item 11.
  • Genealogical and biographical record of New London County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois : J.H. Beers & Co., 1905).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.65 D3bg, or Part 1: FHL US/CAN Film 844968 Item 1, Part 2: FHL US/CAN Film 962323 Item 1, or FHL US/CAN Film 1000152 Item 2.
  • Biographical Review Publishing Company, Biographical review containing life sketches of leading citizens of New London County, Connecticut, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1967).  Includes index.  Available online at Internet Archives, (accessed 3 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 528759 Item 1.   Also see Biographical review. : containing life sketches of leading citizens of New London County, Connecticut, a database at ancestry.com$, (accessed 3 Mar 2011).
  • Susan Fraile, James R. Benn and Southeastern Connecticut Library Association, Genealogical and local history resources in New London County libraries, ([Groton, Connecticut] : Southeastern Connecticut Library Association, 1982).   Includes indexes.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.65 D23f.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of New London County, Connecticut online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Connecticut Cemeteries for more information

 

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 32,918
1800 34,888 6.0%
1810 34,707 −0.5%
1820 35,943 3.6%
1830 42,201 17.4%
1840 44,463 5.4%
1850 51,821 16.5%
1860 61,731 19.1%
1870 66,570 7.8%
1880 73,152 9.9%
1890 76,634 4.8%
1900 82,758 8.0%
1910 91,253 10.3%
1920 104,611 14.6%
1930 118,966 13.7%
1940 125,224 5.3%
1950 144,821 15.6%
1960 185,745 28.3%
1970 230,654 24.2%
1980 238,409 3.4%
1990 254,957 6.9%
2000 259,088 1.6%
2010 274,055 5.8%
Source: Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing New London County, Connecticut Genealogy census records online, see: Connecticut Census.

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Church Records

  • Connecticut Genealogy, New London County Church Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Includes church and vital records.
  • Hiram P. Arms, Historical notes of the Congregational churches in New London County, from 1836 to 1869 presented to the conference at Montville, October 12th, 1869, (Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms, 1987).  A database for this book is available at ancestry.com$, (accessed 3 Mar 2011).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6062281.
  • First Congregational Church, A list of all those who have been members of the First Congregational Church in New-London, between the fifth day of October, 1670, and the first day of May, 1840, (Sarasota, Florida : Aceto Bookmen, 1996).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.65/N2 K2Lf.

Court Records

  • New London County Connecticut Court Records Directory, (accessed 8 Mar 2011). 
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New London County), Divorce papers, 1719-1875 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).  Available at the Family History Library, 1st of 18 films, FHL US/CAN Film 1638067 Item 2.
  • Grace Louise Knox, Connecticut divorces Superior Court records for the counties of New London, Tolland & Windham, 1719-1910 , (Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books, c1987).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.6 P2k.
  • Connecticut. County Court (New London), Records of trials, 1661-1700, in the county court of New London County, Connecticut, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1954).  Some pages wanting.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 5138.

Directories

  • Linkpendium, Directories, New London County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Norwich directory, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price and Lee Co., 1930-).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.65/N1 E4p.
  • Montville, Ledyard (New London County, Conn.) city directory including Gales Ferry, Uncasville, Mohegan and Oakdale, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee, 1972-).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.65 E4pm.
  • Norwich (Connecticut) suburban directories,  ([Woodbridge, Connecticut] : Primary Source Microfilm, [199-?]).   1912 available at the Family History Library, FHL US/Can Film 2310367 Item 7, 1923-24, Item 8.
  • New London (Connecticut) city directories, (Woodridge, Connecticut : Research Publications, c1980-1984, [199-?].  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6044248. (5 fiche, 14 films covering a variety of years between 1855 and 1935.)

Emigration and Immigration

Vessels sailing from New London, Connecticut between 1803 and 1878 made over 2500 voyages to foreign ports. A Crew List was required to be filed stating the vessel's destination and its crew. An Index to those Lists, containing over 37,400 names, may be found at http://library.mysticseaport.org/initiative/CrIndex.cfm. The Index may provide the following information:

• Name
• Age
• Birth Place
• Residence
• Complexion
• Voyage (Name of ship and date)

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • New London County Genealogy 1,843 New London county genealogy record sources.
  • Betty Brown Sheeran and Arthur D. Fiske, Browne-Brown ancestral lines Browne-Brown and allied families of Lynn, Massachusetts; Stonington, Connecticut; Ellisburg, New York; Rochester, Minnesota; Waseca, Minnesota, (Fall City, Washington : Sheeran of Stonegate Press, c1997).   Includes Adams, Avery, Beecher, Brooks, Bullard, Burdick, Chesebrough, Clarke, Collins, Fenn, French, Frink, Graves, Hall, Holdridge, Hudson, Lewis, Marvin, Miner, Nichols, Palmer, Pardee, Parker, Reed, Scott, Shumway, Weld, Wilcox, Wilkins, York and related families.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B815sb v. 1, and v.2, also FHL US/CAN Film 2055431 Items 5 - 6.
  • Gerald James Parsons, The Palmer family ancestors and descendants of Othniel Palmer (1743-c1798), Revolutionary soldier of Stonington, Conn., and Saratoga and Cayuga Counties, N.Y., ([Syracuse, New York] : G.J. Parsons, 1978).  Includes bibliographic references.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 P182pgj, or FHL US/CAN Film 1321493 Item 8.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other related documents were recorded by the town clerk and are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee. There is no statewide index.

The Family History Library and the Connecticut State Library have microfilm copies of many proprietors' and town records from the earliest years to the mid or late 1800s. Some are as recent as the 1900s. They are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog under the name of the town.

  • Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, New London County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1854 , Washington, District of Columbia : Library of Congress, 1983).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079303.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Washington CountyKent CountyWindham CountyTolland CountyHartford CountyMiddlesex CountyCT NEW LONDON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


New London

Migration

Military Records

American Revolution

Civil War

Service men from New London County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from New London County.

  1. 1st Regiment, Connecticut Heavy Artillery - Company D
  2. 1st Regiment, Connecticut Cavalry - Company C
  3. 2nd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Rifle Company C
  4. 3rd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Rifle Company D
  5. 8th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company G
  6. 14th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company H
  7. 18th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company A and F
  8. 21st Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company C, E, F, G and H.
  9. 26th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company C, E, F, H, I and K.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • 1851-1992 Connecticut, District Court Naturalization Indexes, 1851-1992 at FamilySearch — index and images
  • Connecticut. Court of Common Pleas (New London County), Naturalization books, 1874-1906 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Additional indexes included in each volume.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319755. (4 Films)
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New London County), Naturalization books, 1856-1905 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Indexes are found within each volume.   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319742 Item 4, and FHL US/CAN Film 1319743 Items 1-3.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New London County), Naturalization records (New London County, Connecticut), 1872-1906, 1909-1945 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983-2008).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319743 Item 4. (27 Films)
  • Connecticut. Court of Common Pleas (New London County), Naturalization papers, 1875-1902 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Contains naturalization testimony, some declarations of intention.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319744. (6 Films)
  • Connecticut. Court of Common Pleas (New London County), Declarations of intentions, 1875-1906 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Indexes included within each volume.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319741 Item 4, and FHL US/CAN Film 1319742 Items 1-3.

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Native Races

  • Will Ottery, Rudi Ottery and Samson Occum, A man called Sampson the ancestry and progeny of Sampson, a Mashantucket Pequot Indian, born in what is now New London County, Connecticut - including brief descriptions of family connections to other historic native American family groups, the ancient Pequot tribe, the Pequot War ..., (Weare, New Hampshire : W. & R. Ottery, c1989).  Includes index.   Surnames include Sampson, Samson, Smith, Welch, Roulette, Pendleton, Miller, Mathers, Johnson, Coyhis, Baker, and others.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Sa48o.

Periodicals

Probate Records

School Records

  • John Keep, Adin Webb and Baptist Church in Homer, New York, Miscellaneous records of Homer, New York, 1794-1860 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 17702, or FHL US/CAN Film 1421103 Items 2-4.

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

  • 1640-1939 - Connecticut Marriages, 1640-1939 at FamilySearch — index and images
  • 1807-1837 - Ralph Hurlbutt's Record as Justice of the Peace of New London County, Connecticut, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1954).  Includes actions 1807 and marriages 1807-1837.  Some pages wanting.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 5356.

Death

  • 1883-1932 - New London County (Connecticut). Coroner, Coroner's records, 1883-1932, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1988).  Indexes are found within each volume.  Available at the Family History Library, 1st of 8 films, FHL US/CAN Film 1579179.

Divorce Records

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies, Libraries, and Museums

The Denison Homestead
120 Pequotsepos Rd
Mystic, CT 06355-3043
860 536 9248
Website


East Lyme Historical Societybr> P. O. Box 112
East Lyme, CT 06333
860.739.6070
E-mail:info@eastlymehistoricalsociety.org
Website


Griswold Historical Society
167 East Main Street
Jewett City, Ct. 06351
E-Mail: rick_lehner@hotmail.com
Website

Lebanon Historical Society Museum and Visitors Center
856 Trumbull Highway
Lebanon CT
PO Box 151
Lebanon CT 06249
860 642-6579
Fax (860) 642-6583
E-Mail: museum@historyoflebanon.org
Website

Mystic River Historical Society
74 High Street
P. O. Box 245
Mystic, CT 06355
E-Mail: info@mystichistory.org
Website

New London County Historical Society, Inc.
11 Blinman Street
New London, CT 06320
860-443-1209
Website

Norwich Historical Society
307 Main Street
Norwich, CT 06360
860-886-1776
E-mail: minerregan@gmail.com
Website

Otis Library
261 Main St.
Norwich, CT 06360
860 889-2365
Fax 860 889-2533
E-Mail: genealogy@otis.lioninc.org
Website


Stonington Historical Society
Town of Stonington
152 Elm Street
Stonington, CT 06378
Website


The Slater Library
26 Main Street
Jewett City, Connecticut 06351
860 376-0024
Website


R.W. Woolworth Library>br> P.O. Box 103
Stonington, CT 06378-0103
860 535-1131
E-Mail: library@stoningtonhistory.org
Website

Waterford Historical Society
P.O. Box 300491
Waterford, MI 48330-0491
248 683-2697
E-mail: sstrait649@comcast.net
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "New London County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_London_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  4. Wikipedia contributors,"New London County, Connecticut, " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_London_County,_Connecticut, accessed 11 October 2018.