To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

New Leeds, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to New Leeds, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LEEDS (NEW), a chapelry in Horton township, Bradford parish, W. R. Yorkshire; suburban to Bradford. It was constituted in 1865; The church was built in 1865.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Online Records  [edit | edit source]

Online data content from chapelry registers of NEW LEEDS exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NEW LEEDS CHAPELRY (1863) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1863
None
None
JOIN None

None
None

AC None
None
None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding New Leeds and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bradford to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BRADFORD page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. England Jurisdictions 1851 Vision of Britain

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.