New Hutton, Westmorland Genealogy
Guide to New Hutton, ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|New Hutton, Westmorland|
|Poor Law Union||Kendal|
|Parish registers: 1741|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal|
|Location of Archive|
|Westmorland Record Office|
HUTTON, NEW, a chapelry, in the parish, union,and ward of Kendal, county of Westmorland, 4 miles(E. S. E.) from Kendal; comprising the districts orplaces of Hay and Hutton-i'-th'-Hay, and the township of New Hutton. 
New Hutton was created a chapelry by 1813 and lay within the ancient parish boundaries of Kendal.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
New Hutton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|New Hutton Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Kendal Archive Centre.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 594-598. Date accessed: 27 July 2012.