To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

New Hey St Thomas, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

History[edit | edit source]

New Hey St Thomas,Church Street, Newhey is an ecclesisatical parish in the Oldham Deanery of the Diocese of Manchester.

Consecrated in 1875 to serve the new Anglican parish of Newhey. Its patron is the Bishop of Manchester. The church was badly damaged by arson on 21 December 2007..

It is situated in the small village of Newhey in the English Pennine hills close to the former mill town of Rochdale. The Church was built as a replica of Holy Trinity Church, Weston-super-Mare , Somerset, which had been erected fifteen years previously. It is made of Bath stone which gives it a clean and shining appearance during the day, and a translucent appearance at night, especially when the moon is out. The church is a local landmark and can be seen for miles around.

Newhey was anciently a hamlet within the township of Butterworth. It was described in 1828 as "consisting of several ranges of cottages and two public houses". In the early 19th century a major road was built through Newhey from Werneth to Littleborough. Newhey was incorporated into the Milnrow Urban District in 1894.

Newhey expanded as part of an unplanned process of urbanisation, brought on by the introduction of textile manufacture during the Industrial Revolution, and is now home to the Ellenroad Steam Museum - the engine house of the former Ellenroad Ring Mill, the rest of which was demolished in 1985. It holds the world's largest working steam engine

New Hey St Thomas contributor Dr Neil Clifton.jpg



Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records[edit | edit source]

New Hey St Thomas, Lancashire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)][1]
New Hey St Thomas, Lancashire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1877-1921 1877-1921 1877-1933 1877-1933

Parish registers for New Hey, 1877-1933 Microfilm of original records at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L 241.

Content
Film
Marriages, 1877-1921. Burials, 1877-1933. Banns, 1877-1910.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356363 Items 1 - 4


Newhey- St Thomas
Banns-1877-1910- MFPR 2055
Burials-1877-1933- MFPR 2055
Marriages-1877-1921- MFPR 2055

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records[edit | edit source]

Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Rochdale Poor Law Union


Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites[edit | edit source]

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References[edit | edit source]