New Haven Museum Whitney Research Library

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
To Do: Complete this page especially Collection Description and Alternate Repositories sections.

United States go to Connecticut go to New Haven Gotoarrow.png Archives and Libraries go to New Haven Museum Whitney Research Library

New Haven Museum Whitney Research Library
New Haven Museum.jpg

Contact Information

E-mail:[1]  library@newhavenmuseum.org

Address:[1]

114 Whitney Avenue
New Haven CT 06510

Telephone:[1]  203-562-4183 x15
Fax: 203-562-2002

Hours and holidays:[2]  Tuesday–Friday: 10 a.m.–5 p.m.; Saturday: 12–5 p.m.; Free 1st Sundays: 1-4 p.m.

Map, directions, and public transportation:

  • Map:  Google map: New Haven Museum
  • Directions:[2]
    • From Interstate 95 Exit onto Interstate 91 North and follow directions below.
    • From 91 North or South
      • Take Exit 3 – Trumbull Street
      • At end of ramp stay in center lane
      • Proceed straight through first traffic light
      • At next traffic light turn right
      • NHM will be immediately on your left.
        • There is free parking in the rear of the building.
  • Public transportation:

Internet sites and databases:

Collection Description

This is the best collection of the earliest southern Connecticut town records.[3] They also have passenger arrival lists, Federal censuses, and a complete set of New Haven city directories since 1840.[4] Formerly known as the New Haven Colony Historical Society.

Tips

{Optional}

Guides

{Optional: Internet or guide books describing this collection for genealogists. }

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot visit or find a source at the New Haven Museum Whitney Research Library, a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Overlapping Collections

  • National Archives at Boston (that is Waltham), federal censuses, Ancestry.com, military, pensions, bounty land, photos, naturalizations, passenger arrival records for Boston and New England, and Canadian border crossings, Chinese immigration, Navy and maritime records.[5]
  • Connecticut State Library, Hartford, has the Barbour Collection, Bibles, census, church, Hale Collection newspaper marriages and deaths, manuscripts, books, cemeteries, probates, vital records, directories, land, local histories, maps, military, naturalization, passenger arrivals, and e-mail questions.[6] [7]

Similar Collections

Neighboring Collections

  • County Vital Records Office
  • City Vital Records Office
  • County Archives
  • County Orphan's Court
  • County Probate Court
  • County Recorder
  • County Coroner
  • U.S. District Court
  • County and local historical societies
  • County and local genealogical societies
  • Public Libraries
  • Museums and heritage societies
  • Repositories in surrounding counties in Connecticut: Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, New London, Tolland, and in Massachusetts: Hampden
  • Connecticut Society of Genealogists Library, East Hartford, their holdings are not limited to Connecticut and include census records, tax lists, family histories, church records, local histories, and much more.[8]
  • Godfrey Memorial Library, Middletown, an excellent genealogical facility including many New England town records, guidebooks, indexes, biographies, and genealogies.</ref>
  • Mystic Seaport Museum Collections Research Center, Mystic, best first-stop for ships' logs and images, journals, ledgers, diaries, and documents from the whaling, fishing, and shipping industries.[9]
  • State Vital Records Office
  • UConn Libraries Homer Babbidge Library, Storrs, an outstanding Connecticut genealogy collection.</ref>
  • Western Connecticut State University Haas Library, Danbury, histories, biographies, genealogies, and local histories.</ref>
  • Yale University Sterling Memorial Library, New Haven, Puritain and Congregational Church records, as well as Connecticut, New Haven, and New England history, manuscripts, diaries, and journals.</ref>
  • Church archives
  • Repositories in surrounding states: Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island
  • Albany Institute of History and Art best collection of indexes and records for "old" Albany County, New York, including many Connecticut families that migrated into Vermont and upstate New York.</ref>
  • American Antiquarian Society, Worcester MA, collects newspapers, history, genealogy, Bibles, maps, biography, directories, Native Americans, women, canals, railroads, photos, manuscripts. [10]
  • Bennington Museum Research Library, Bennington VT, early Connecticut, New York, Vermont records. It is a great place to find records of families that moved up the Connecticut River and then west.</ref>
  • New England Historic Genealogical Society, Boston, national in scope. Over 100 million name database, of vital records, genealogies, journals, over 200,000 books, 100,000 microfilms, and over 20 million manuscripts with emphasis on New England since the 1600s.[11] [12] [13]
  • New York Public Library, New York City, Genealogy Division has an outstanding collection of American history at national, state and local levels; international genealogy and heraldry in Roman alphabets; Dorot Jewish collection; photos; New York censuses, directories, and vital records.[14]
  • Vermont Historical Society Leahy Library, Barre VT, this society is a good place to research former early Connecticut residents who later moved to Vermont.</ref>
  • Western Reserve Historical Society, Cleveland OH, premier repository for the Connecticut Western Reserve including original land records, many genealogies, biographies, histories, and Bibles.[15]

Sources

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 The Whitney Library in New Haven Museum (accessed 21 September 2015).
  2. 2.0 2.1 Admissions, Hours, and Directions in New Haven Museum (accessed 21 September 2015).
  3. William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 25. WorldCat 39493985. FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
  4. New Haven Museum and Historical Society in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 18 September 2015).
  5. Dollarhide and Bremer, 124.
  6. History and Genealogy Home in CT State Library (accessed 21 September 2015).
  7. Dollarhide and Bremer, 25.
  8. CSG Library Holdings in Connecticut Society of Genealogists (accessed 21 September 2015).
  9. Manuscripts in Mystic Seaport: the Museum of America and the Sea (accessed 20 September 2015).
  10. Dollarhide and Bremer, 59.
  11. "New England Historic Genealogical Society" in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_England_Historic_Genealogical_Society (accessed 30 August 2010).
  12. Using the NEHGS Library in American Ancestors" (accessed 21 September 2015).
  13. Dollarhide and Bremer, 5, 57, and 59.
  14. Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy in New York Public Library (accessed 21 September 2015).
  15. Dollarhide and Bremer, 89.