New Haven County, Connecticut Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Connecticut
New Haven County

Guide to New Haven County, Connecticut ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

New Haven County, Connecticut
Map
Map of Connecticut highlighting New Haven County
Location in the state of Connecticut
Facts
Founded May 2, 1785
County Seat New Haven
Courthouse
Address 235 Church Street
New Haven, CT 06510
Phone: 203.787.7908
New Haven County Website


County Information

Description

County Courthouse

  • Town Clerks have birth, death and land records
  • County Clerk has divorce and court records
  • Probate Court has probate records.[1]
  • There is no county government.
  • The government is at the town level.

New Haven County, Connecticut

Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: New Haven County, Connecticut

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Branford 1639,
Cheshire 1780,
East Haven 1785,
Guilford 1639,
Hamden 1786,
Meriden 1796,
Millford 1639,
New Haven 1638,
North Haven 1786,
Oxford 1798,
Seymour 1672,
Southbury 1787,
South Derby 1675,
Wallingford 1670,
Waterbury 1686,
Wolcott 796,
Woodbridge 1784.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: One of four original counties, created 10 May 1666 from the Colonial lands.[1]
  • County Seat: Has none since 1960 and the county was created 10 May 1666. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[2]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[3]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Bible Records, USGenWeb CT Archives

Biographies

  • Linkpendium, Biographies, Oral Histories, Diaries, Memoirs, Genealogies, Correspondence, New Haven County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Dorothy A. DeBisschop, Historic personalities of the Lower Naugatuck Valley, ([S.I. : D.A. DeBisschop, 1971]).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 D3d.
  • J.L. Rockey, History of New Haven County, Connecticut, (New York, New York : W.W. Preston, 1892).   Volume 1 available online at Google Books, (accessed 2 Mar 2011), or at Internet Archives, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 H2r.  Volume 2 is available on film, FHL US/CAN Film 845225 or 1000150.
  • J.H. Beers & Co., Commemorative biographical record of New Haven County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Ill. : J.H. Beers, 1902).  Includes index.  Available online at Internet Archives.  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 162012-162014.
  • Mary Hewitt Mitchell, History of New Haven County, Connecticut, (Chicago, Illinois : Pioneer Historical Publishing, 1930).  Includes indexes.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN 974.67 H2m v. 1-3, also FHL US/CAN Film 1320557 Items 1-3.
  • Munson, Myron A. 1637-1887, the Munson record, a genealogical and biographical account of Captain Thomas Munson, a pioneer of Hartford and New Haven, and his descendants (1896). Freely available online
  • Everett Gleason Hill, A modern history of New Haven and eastern New Haven County, (New York, New York : S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1918).  Includes index.  Volume 1 is available online at Google Books, (accessed 2 Mar 2011), also at Internet Archives, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).   Volume 2 is available online at Internet Archives, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Volumes 1 and 2 are also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 H2h v. 1-2, or FHL US/CAN Film 1573599 Item 5.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of New Haven County, Connecticut online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Connecticut Cemeteries for more information

 

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 30,703
1800 32,162 4.8%
1810 37,064 15.2%
1820 39,616 6.9%
1830 43,847 10.7%
1840 48,619 10.9%
1850 65,588 34.9%
1860 97,345 48.4%
1870 121,257 24.6%
1880 156,523 29.1%
1890 209,058 33.6%
1900 269,163 28.8%
1910 337,282 25.3%
1920 415,214 23.1%
1930 463,449 11.6%
1940 484,316 4.5%
1950 545,784 12.7%
1960 660,315 21.0%
1970 744,948 12.8%
1980 761,337 2.2%
1990 804,219 5.6%
2000 824,008 2.5%
2010 862,477 4.7%
Source: Wikipedia.org".

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

For tips on accessing New Haven County, Connecticut Genealogy census records online, see: Connecticut Census.

Church Records

  • Connecticut Genealogy, New Haven County Church Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Includes church and vital records.
  • Frederick John Kingsbury, A narrative and documentary history of St. John's Protestant Episcopal Church, formerly St. James, of Waterbury, Connecticut with some notice of St. Paul's Church, Plymouth, Christ Church, Waterbury, St. Michael's Church, Naugatuck, a church in Middlebury, All Saint's Church, Wolcott, St. Paul's Church, Waterville, Trinity Church, Waterbury, All Colonies of St. John's, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price Lee & Adkins Co., 1907).  Includes index.  Available online at Google Books, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67/W1 K2k.
  • 1749-1795 - Scofield, Ethel Lord. "The Baptismal Record of the Societies of Whitehaven and Fairhaven, Now the United Church (Congregational), New Haven, Conn.," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 42, No. 1 (Jan. 1911):28-50. Digital versions at Internet Archive - free; FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 42.

Court Records

Directories

  • Linkpendium, Directories, New Haven County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Waterbury suburban city directory including Middlebury, Terryville, Thomaston, Watertown, and Wolcott, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee Company, 1940?-).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 E4pws.
  • Prospect city directory including Beacon Falls, Bethany, Oxford, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee Co., 1976-).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 E4pp.
  • Ansonia, Derby, Shelton, Seymour directory combining five distinct directories: governmental directory, buyers directory, alphabetical directory, numerical directory, classified directory, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee, 1931-).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 E4pa.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • New Haven County Genealogy 1,837 New Haven county genealogy record sources.
  • Doris B. Townsend, Townshend heritage a genealogical, biographical history of the Townshend family and of their old homestead on the east shore of New Haven harbor, (New Haven [Connecticut] : New Haven Colony Historical Society, c1971).   Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL FAM HIST Book 929. 273 T666td.
  • Charles E. Booth, New Haven genealogy, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Genealogical Society of Utah, [19--]).  Includes index. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 930122 Item 2.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

  • Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other related documents were recorded by the town clerk and are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee. There is no statewide index.
  • The Family History Library and the Connecticut State Library have microfilm copies of many proprietors' and town records from the earliest years to the mid or late 1800s. Some are as recent as the 1900s. They are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog under the name of the town.
  • Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, New Haven County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1852 and 1856, (Washington, District of Columbia : Library of Congress, 1983). 1852 map available online at flickr from yahoo, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079301, and FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079301.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Hartford CountyNew Haven CountyNew London CountyCT MIDDLESEX.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Ctnewhaven.jpg

Migration

Military Records

American Revolution

  • Individual Records of the American Revolution, USGenWeb CT Archives
  • James Spencer Hedden and Sons of the American Revolution. General David Humphries Branch, Roster of graves of, or monuments to, patriots of 1775-1783, and of soldiers of colonial wars in and adjacent to New Haven County, Connecticut, Typescript (photocopy).  Includes indexes.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 M2h, or FHL US/CAN Film 1421668 Item 9.

Civil War

Service men from New Haven County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from New Haven County.

  1. 1st Regiment Connecticut Volunteers - Field, Staff, Band and Company A,B, D and F.
  2. 2nd Regiment Connecticut Volunteers - Infantry Company C and D. Rifle Company F.
  3. 3rd Regiment Connecticut Volunteers - Field and Staff, Infantry Company B and D. Rifle Company B and C. 
  4. 1st Regiment Connecticut Cavalry - Company A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, K, L, M and Unassigned Recruits.
  5. 1st Light Battery Connecticut Volunteers
  6. 1st Regiment Heavy Artillery Connecticut Volunteers - Field, Staff and Band, Company B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, K, L, and M.
  7. 2nd Regiment Heavy Artillery Connecticut Volunteers - Company A, B, C, D, G, I, M and Unassigned Recruits.
  8. 5th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, C, D and F.
  9. 6th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field, Staff and Band, Company C, E, F, G, H, I, and K.
  10. 7th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, C, D, F, and K.
  11. 8th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, D, E, F, I and K.
  12. 9th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, B, C, E, F, K and Unassigned Recruits.
  13. 10th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, E, F, H, I and Unassigned Recruits.
  14. 11th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company D, E, G, I and K.
  15. 12th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, C, F and Unassigned Recruits.
  16. 13th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company B, D, and H.
  17. 14th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, and K.
  18. 15th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, B, C, D, F, G, H, I and K.
  19. 18th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company D.
  20. 20th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, B, E, F, G, I and K.
  21. 23rd Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, F, and H.
  22. 24th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company H and I.
  23. 27th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, B, C, D, E, F, H, I and K.
  24. 29th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry (Colored) - Company A, B, H and K.
  25. 30th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company B and C.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • 1851-1992 Connecticut, District Court Naturalization Indexes, 1851-1992 at FamilySearch — index and images
  • Connecticut. City Court (New Haven), Naturalization records (New Haven, New Haven, Connecticut), 1874-1877, 1906-1923, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984-2008).  Includes index.  Contains records of declarations of intent for persons from the city of New Haven, or from towns in New Haven County.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398567 Item 6. (12 Films)
  • Connecticut. City Court (Meriden), Petitions and records of naturalization (Meriden, New Haven, Connecticut), 1903-1939 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984-2008).  Indexes are found within each volume.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398568 Items 2-3. (8 Films)
  • United States. Circuit Court and District Court (Connecticut District),  Naturalization records (New Haven County, Connecticut), 1906-1945 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2007-2008).  Includes index in some volumes.  Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2421323 Item 1. (92 Films)
  • Scott, Kenneth. "Some New Haven County, Connecticut Naturalizations, 1803-1844," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 71 (1983):217-219. Digital version at National Genealogical Society website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 71 (1983).
  • Connecticut. City Court (New Haven), Name index to declarations filed, 1844-1923 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).  Includes records for persons living in the city of New Haven, or in nearby towns. FHL US/CAN Film 1398571. (6 films)
  • Connecticut. City Court (New Haven), Name index to petitions filed, 1843-1923 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).  Includes records for persons living in the city of New Haven, or in nearby towns.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398568 Item 4. (3 films)
  • United States Circuit Court ; United States District Court, Index to naturalization records, New Haven, CT, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2004).  Index is in alphabetical order by surname.  Includes name, age, country of birth, name of court, date issued, volume and page number.  Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2370600. (18 Films)

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Photographs

Periodicals

Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

  • 1883-1932 - New Haven County (Connecticut). Coronor, Coroner's records, 1883-1932, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1988-1989).  Indexes are found within most volumes.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1602852 Items 2-3. (20 films)
  • 1917-1931 - New Haven County (Connecticut). Coronor, Coroner's records, Waterbury District, 1917-1931, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1988).  Indexes are found within each volume.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1602525 Item 3, first of 4 films.
  • Death Records, USGenWeb CT Archives

Divorce Records

  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New Haven County), Divorce Papers, 1712-1899 , Manuscript/On Film. Available at the Family History Library starting with, FHL US/CAN Film 1672069 Item 2. (56 films)
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New Haven County), Divorce papers, no appearance files, 1808-1900 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990).  A record of divorce cases which were withdrawn or discontinued. Available at the Family History Library starting with, FHL US/CAN Film 1673026 Item 2. (9 films)
  • 1746-1927 - Daughters of the American Revolution. Oneida Chapter, Volume 6: Bible, cemetery and church records, 1746-1927 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1985).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1435718 Item 1.
  • Linkpendium, Vital Records, New Haven County.

See also How to order Connecticut Vital Records

Research Facilities

Archives

  • USGenWeb Connecticut Archives, New Haven County, (accessed 1 Mar 2011).
  • Historical Records Survey.  Connecticut. Inventory of the town and city archives of Connecticut, no. 5, New Haven County vol. viii, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Oxford, Prospect, Seymour, Southbury, (New Haven, Connecticut : The Survey, 1938).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 A3h, or FHL US/CAN Film 897354 Item 2.

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Charlotte L. Evarts Memorial Archives
8 Meetinghouse Ln
Madison, CT 06443
203 245-5667
E-Mail: evartsarchives@aol.com
Website

Cheshire Public Library
104 Main Street
Cheshire, CT 06410
203-272-2245
Website

Derby Historical Society Research Library
37 Elm Street
Ansonia, CT 06401
203 735-1908
E-mail:info@derbyhistorical.org
Website

James Blackstone Memorial Library
758 Main Street
Branford, CT 06405
203 488-1441
Karen Jensen, Library Director, ext. 312
E-Mail: kjensen@blackstonelibrary.org
Website

Memorable Milford History
Milford, CT 06460
Website

Milford Public Library
57 New Haven Ave
Milford, CT 06460
203-783-3290
Website

The Naugatuck Historical Society
P.O Box 317
195 Water Street
Naugatuck, Connecticut 06770
203-729-9039
E-mail: naugatuckhistory@att.net
Website


Naugatuck Valley Genealogy Club
36 Nathan Court
Waterbury, CT 06708
Website

New Haven Museum
114 Whitney Ave.
New Haven, CT 06510
203-562-4183
FAX 203-562-2002
E-Mail: info@newhavenmuseum.org
Website


Silas Bronson Library
267 Grand St.
Waterbury, CT 06702
203-574-8225
E-Mail: sbl-refdesk@waterburyct.org
Website

Southern Connecticut Ancestry Network (SCAN)
Hamden Miller Memorial Central Library
2901 Dixwell Ave
Hamden, CT. 06518
E-Mail: hhs@hamdenlibrary.org
Website
Website
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "New Haven County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Haven_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors,"New Haven County, Connecticut, " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Haven_County,_Connecticut, accessed 8 October 2018.