New Hampshire, Birth Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from New Hampshire Birth Records)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
New Hampshire


Access the Records
New Hampshire, Birth Certificates, 1901-1915  and New Hampshire, Birth Records, Early to 1900.
CID1876928
CID1542861
{{{CID3}}}
{{{CID4}}}
{{{CID5}}}
{{{CID6}}}
{{{CID7}}}
{{{CID8}}}
{{{CID9}}}
This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.
New Hampshire, United States
New Hampshire flag.png
Flag of New Hampshire
US Locator New Hampshire.png
Location of New Hampshire
Record Description
Record Type Birth Records
Collection years Early-1915
FamilySearch Resources
Related Websites


What is in the Collection?

This article describes multiple collections.

The collection "New Hampshire, Birth Records, Early to 1900" consists of an index and images of New Hampshire birth records. Records consist of index cards that give the town and date of the event and often much more information. With the town and date, the original records can usually be located. Normally there is only one index card per child, but occasionally there is a corrected card before or after the original card.

The collection also contains handwritten cards compiled in 1905 from original town records for the early years to 1915.

Online collections for other websites may include original ledgers from which the 1905 cards were created. The original town records from which the Hancock and Grofton births were transcribed are available on Fold3.com, under the New Hampshire Town Records collection.

The collection "New Hampshire, Birth Certificates, 1901-1915" consists of an index and images of birth certificates from the New Hampshire Division of Vital Records in Concord. The Collection is arranged by year, by certificate number, and by name.

Collection Content

Sample Images

Official records of births occurring in each New Hampshire town or city are kept by the clerk, who sends copies to the Bureau of Vital Records and Health in Concord, New Hampshire. Statewide compilation began with the passing of a law in 1866. Total compliance with the law did not happen until sometime in the 1880’s. Prior to 1883 less than half of the population was listed in the birth records; thereafter the records are more complete and give more genealogical information. When the Bureau of Vital Records was created in 1905 printed cards were distributed and early town records of births dating back to the 1640s were transcribed onto the cards and submitted to the new Bureau.

What Can this Collection Tell Me?

The certificates usually contain the following:

  • Child's name and gender
  • Date and place of birth
  • Gender
  • Color
  • Living birth or stillborn
  • Number of children in family
  • Father's name
  • Father's birthplace, race, age, residence and occupation
  • Maiden name of mother
  • Mother's birthplace, color, age and occupation
  • Name and address of physician or midwife attending birth
  • Place where birth was recorded

The birth index cards usually contain the following:

  • Child's name and gender
  • Date and place of birth
  • Living birth or stillborn
  • Number of children in family
  • Father's name, age and birth place
  • Father's race, occupation and residence
  • Maiden name of mother her place of birth
  • Mother's race and age
  • Name of physician or midwife attending birth
  • Place where birth was recorded

How Do I Search the Collection?

To begin your search it is helpful to know:

  • The full name of your ancestor
  • The birth date of your ancestor
  • The birth place of your ancestor
  • The names of the child's parents

New Hampshire, Birth Records, Early to 1900

Search by Name by visiting the Collection Page:
Fill in the requested information in the initial search page. This search will return a list of possible matches. Compare the information about the ancestors in the list to what you already know about your ancestors to determine if this is the correct family or person. You may need to compare the information about more than one person to find your ancestor.

View images in this collection by visiting the Browse Page:
To search the collection you will need to follow this series of links:
⇒ Select "Browse through images" on the initial collection page:
⇒ Select the appropriate “Film " which will take you to the images.

New Hampshire, Birth Certificates, 1901-1915

Search by Name by visiting the Collection Page:
Fill in the requested information in the initial search page. This search will return a list of possible matches. Compare the information about the ancestors in the list to what you already know about your ancestors to determine if this is the correct family or person. You may need to compare the information about more than one person to find your ancestor.

View images in this collection by visiting the Browse Page:
To search the collection you will need to follow this series of links:
⇒ Select "Browse through images" on the initial collection page:
⇒ Select the appropriate “Year "
⇒ Select the appropriate "Certificate Number and Name Range " which will take you to the images.

Look at each image comparing the information with what you already know about your ancestors to determine if the image relates to them. You may need to look at several images and compare the information about the individuals listed in those images to your ancestors to make this determination.

You can also search the collection "New Hampshire, Birth Records, Early to 1900" by name. Fill in the requested information in the boxes on the initial search page. This search will return a list of possible matches. Compare the information about those in the list to what you already know about your own ancestors to determine if this is the correct family or person.

Look at each image comparing the information with what you already know about your ancestors to determine if the image relates to them. You may need to look at several images and compare the information about the individuals listed in those images to your ancestors to make this determination.

With either search keep in mind:

  • There may be more than one person in the records with the same name.
  • You may not be sure of your own ancestor’s name.
  • Your ancestor may have used different names or variations of their name throughout their life.

For tips about searching on-line collections see the on-line article FamilySearch Search Tips and Tricks.

What Do I Do Next?

When you have located your ancestor’s birth record, carefully evaluate each piece of information about them. These pieces of information may give you new biographical details that can lead you to other records about your ancestors.

I Found Who I was Looking for, What Now?

  • Use the birth date along with the place of birth to find the family in census records.
  • Use the residence and names of the parents to locate church and land records.
  • The father’s occupation can lead you to employment records or other types of records such as military records.
  • The parent’s birth places can tell you former residences and can help to establish a migration pattern for the family.
  • It is often helpful to extract the information on all children with the same parents.
  • If the surname is unusual, you may want to compile birth entries for every person of the same surname and sort them into families based on the names of the parents.
  • Search the birth records to identify siblings, parents, and other relatives in the same or other generations who were born in the same county or nearby.

I Can't Find Who I'm Looking for, What Now?

  • Look for variant spellings of the names. You should also look for nicknames and abbreviated names.
  • Look for another index. Local genealogical and historical societies often have indexes to local records.
  • Search the indexes and records of nearby counties.
  • Try alternative search methods such as only filling in the surname search box (or the given name search box) on the landing page leaving the other box empty and then click on search. This should return a list of everyone with that particular name. You could then browse the list for individuals that may be your ancestor.

For a summary of this information see the wiki article: United States, How to Use the Records Summary (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Citing This Collection

Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.

Collection Citation
"New Hampshire Birth Certificates, 1901-1915." Database with images. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : 14 June 2016. New Hampshire Division of Vital Records, Concord.

Record Citation (or citation for the index entry):

When looking at a record, the citation is found below the record. You can search records in this collection by visiting the search page for New Hampshire, Birth Records, Early to 1900.

Image Citation

When looking at an image, the citation is found on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen. You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for New Hampshire, Birth Records, Early to 1900.
"New Hampshire Birth Records, Early to 1900." Database with images. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : 14 June 2016. Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics, Concord.

Record Citation (or citation for the index entry):

When looking at a record, the citation is found below the record. You can search records in this collection by visiting the search page for New Hampshire, Birth Certificates, 1901-1915.

Image Citation

When looking at an image, the citation is found on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen. You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for New Hampshire, Birth Certificates, 1901-1915.


Top of Page

How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?

We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records.

Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.