To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

New Forest, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from New Forest, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to New Forest, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

New Forest, Hampshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fordingbridge
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union New Forest
Registration District New Forest
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

New Forest-- hundred, in SW. of Hants, 83,737 ac., pop. 9444. The New Forest occupies most of the SW. corner of Hants. It is about 14 miles long N. to S., and 16 miles broad E. to W.; about one-fourth of the area consists of enclosed plantations, and the remainder of open woods, bog, and heath.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

New Forest parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Hampshire Parish Registers, 1538-1980 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Hampshire Bishop's Transcripts 1680-1892 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Hampshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Hampshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
ANC = Hampshire, England, Allegations for Marriage Licences, 1689-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
New Forest Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1980
1538-1980
1538-1980
FS BTs 1680-1892
1680-1892
1680-1892
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FMP 1752-1851
1754-1837
1400-1850
TGEN 1537-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
ANC

1689-1837


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Hampshire Archives and Local Studies.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Talbot, Mary.  The Windebanks of the new Forest.  Emma Harrison Windebank b. 15 March 1859 at New Forest, Union Workhouse.  Article has pictures of the Windebank family and history of the different family members dating from 1810-1941. Article is to be found in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 34, part no. 1, June 2007, pages 40-43. FHL Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed: 10 June 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Hampshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch