New Ferry, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to New Ferry, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
New Ferry, village, in NW. of Cheshire, on River Mersey, near Bebington station, Birkenhead; P.O. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
New Ferry Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|New Ferry St Mark Parish (1888) Online Records|
New Ferry St Mark the Evangelist, was a chapelry in Bebington, created a parish in 1888 from Nether Bebington.
Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Parish registers of New Ferry, 1866-1949 Cheshire Record Office no.: P159/1/1-2, 4-6; P159/2/1-5.
|Parish Registers: New Ferry||Film|
|Baptisms, 1866-1902. Marriages, 1889-1912.
||1656723 Items 3 - 6|
|Baptisms, 1902-1948. Marriages, 1912-Oct. 1946.
||2197437 Items 2 - 8|
|Marriages, Oct. 1946-1949.
||2197438 Item 1|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Roman Catholic
Non-Conformists Church Records: Church records for the Bebington Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, New Ferry, 1876-1949 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 158/9, EMS 158/10/1-4.
|Church records for the Bebington Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, New Ferry||Film|
|Baptisms, 1876-1921. Marriages, 1893-1949.
||2299474 Items 17 - 21|
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Wirral (1837-1922)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- Wirral (1836-1922)
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles. Date accessed: 24th January 2014.
Bibliography[edit | edit source]