Nevada County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Nevada County
 

Guide to Nevada County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Prescott
Organized: March 20, 1871
Parent County(s): Hempstead, Columbia, and Ouachita[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clark  • Columbia  • Hempstead  • Lafayette  • Ouachita  • Pike
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasNevadaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-nevada.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for the state of Nevada. The County Seat is Prescott and was founded March 20, 1871. It is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Nevada County Courthouse
215 E 2nd St Street;
Prescott, AR 71857
Phone: 870.887.3115
Nevada County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1871 and cemetery records;
Clerk Circuit Court divorce and court and land records from 1871.[3]

Nevada County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1871 1914* 1871 1871 1871 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Nevada County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [7]

  • 1803 - With the Louisiana Purchase, Euro-American settlers began to move into the region.
  • 1812 - Stephen Vaughan and his wife, Polly, came up the Ouachita and the Little Missouri rivers, settling at a place on the Little Missouri later known as Janes Ferry.
  • 1812 (after) - Vaughan was the first person in the county to be granted a federal land patent.
  • 1850s - The flood of immigration in the 1850s accelerated the trend of land patents, which continued to the brink of the Civil War.
  • 1860s - The area that would become Nevada County had only dirt roads and no towns of any size.
  • 1920-2010 - Nevada County hit its population high mark in 1920 with 21,934 and has had a steady decline until this time (2010) with only 8,997.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Nevada, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 129,259
1890 14,832 −88.5%
1900 16,609 12.0%
1910 19,344 16.5%
1920 21,934 13.4%
1930 20,407 −7.0%
1940 19,869 −2.6%
1950 14,781 −25.6%
1960 10,700 −27.6%
1970 10,111 −5.5%
1980 11,097 9.8%
1990 10,101 −9.0%
2000 9,955 −1.4%
2010 8,997 −9.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Pike CountyClark CountyDallas CountyOuachita CountyUnion CountyColumbia CountyLafayette CountyHempstead CountyAR NEVADA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Nevada County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Nevada County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[10] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

  • 1947 - 1965 - Nevada County Birth Index 1947-1965. Batch C748988 at FamilySearch - free.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Nevada County Depot and Museum
403 West First Street South
PO Box 592
Prescott AR 71857
Phone: (870) 887-5821
Email:[1]
Website

Hempstead County Genealogy Society
PO Box 756
Hope, AR 71802
Email:[2]
Nevada County doesn't have a genealogical society at this time, but the Hempstead County Genealogy Society does have information about Nevada County.

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Nevada County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nevada_County,_Arkansas
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nevada County, Arkansas. Page 69 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 66.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Nevada County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nevada_County,_Arkansas, accessed 6 September 2018.
  7. Peggy S. Lloyd, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=794&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c: accessed January 15, 2016), “Nevada County.”
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012).
  10. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  12. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.