Netteswell, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Netteswell, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Andrew Netteswell Essex
|Poor Law Union||Epping|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1802|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Netteswell, or Nettleswell, is a parish, with a village, in Epping district, Essex; 1 mile S of Burnt-Mill railway station, 2 miles S of the river Stort at the boundary with Hertfordshire, and 2 miles S S W of Harlow. The post-town is Harlow.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Netteswell, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|Netteswell, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Andrew and St Stephen Tye Green ( now St Andrews Community Learning centre)
See also St Michael and All Angels
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Epping Poor Law Union, Essex
In 1836 Netteswell joined Epping poor law union.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Netteswell on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England &amp;amp;amp;amp; Wales(1870). Adapted: date accessed 19 May 2013.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 11 September 2014.
- Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.