To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Nedstrand (Hinderå) Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Nedstrand, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Nedstrand (Hinderå) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Nerstrand
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Nerstrand
Fogderi Ryfylke
Sorenskriveri Ryfylke
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Nedstrand clerical district records begin in 1724. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Nedstrand (Hinderå) and Sjernarøy with Skjoldastraumen (Vårneset) chapell. Hinderå was changed to Nedstrand in 1881 and Vårneset to Skjoldastraumen in 1975. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1664-1666 Census (Manntall)

Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt III Database

  • 1701 Census (Manntall)

Manntall 1701 Microfilm

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

  • 1801 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801 for Nedstrand Microfilm

The 1801 census (b. 39) for Nedstrand (Hinderå) clerical district includes Nedstrand and Sjernarøy parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for 1139 Hinneraae (Nerstrand) Database

  • 1865 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Nedstrand Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Nærstrand Database

  • 1875 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875 for Nedstrand Microfilm

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

1875-teljinga for Nærstrand Database

  • 1900 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900 for Nedstrand Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Nærstrand Database

  • 1910 Census (Folketellingen]

[1]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `

Availability[edit | edit source]

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1788 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke judicial district
*1786-1876 Family History Library
*1786-1876 Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke deanery
*1786-1807 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1786-1807 Digitalarkivet.

Nedsrand police station
*1891-1968 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

A genealogy of the people and their farms in Sjernarøy in Nedstrand clerical district in Rogaland county with some history.

Løland, Jacob Sverre, "Sjernarøy bygdebok: gard og ætt," Finnøy: Utgevar: Finnøy kommune, 1972. 948.31/S5 D2L FHL INTL Book

"Index to Sjernarøy bygdebok" by Jørg Eirik Waula. Stavanger, Norway: Rogaland Historie og Ættesogelag, 1995. 948.31/S5 D2L index FHL INTL Book

A genealogy and history of the people and their farms in Tysvær.

Dybdal-Holthe, Nils and others, "Tysvær," Tysvær: Tysvær kommune, c1990- . 948.31/T3 D2d 9 Vols. FHL INTL Book Contents:

vol. 4. Skjoldastraumen, (nr. 81-90, 200, 114-132) / Nils Olav Østrem vol. 6. Nedstrand I (nr. 133-167) / Hans Eyvind Næss -- vol. 7. Nedstrand II (nr. 168-199) / Hans Eyvind Næss -- b.

The Farm Book for Nedstrand is ""hidden"" in volumes 6 & 7 of the Farm Book for Tysvær.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

45 Aksland, 29 Alstveit, 63 Amdal indre, 7 Amdal ytre, 39 Amdal øvre

8 Bakkevik, 43 Bausta, 25 Bjelland lille, 6 Borgenvik, 3 Borgøen

56 Dalve

36 Elfarvik, 4 Espevik

43 Flaaten, 47 Frøland

46 Gurigjerd

37 Haugen, 65 Haukeli, 37 Helgeland, 32 Helle nedre, 42 Hetland, 18 Hustoft

17 Indgjerdet

21 Jursvold

44 Kaggestad, 55 Kalseim, 54 Kleiberg, 17 Klungtveit, 62 Kvam indre

22 Landraak, 13 Langøsundet, 20 Leirange,r 11 Li ytre, 40 Li øvre, 34 Lyse

49 Maurland, 23 Musland

53 Nerstrand, 59 Nese indre, 15 Nordtveit

52 Petersro, 42 Pladset, 34 Præstegaarden

64 Ringe, 5 Ringstveit, 34 Roaldsvik

50 Sand, 2 Sandvik, 26 Seldal, 28 Selviken, 19 Siljerd, 7 Skiljaviken, 30 Skorpe, 38 Slaattet, 16 Smørdal, 66 Soleim, 51 Stuviken, 41 Støle, 1 Stølsvik, 14 Sørtveit

27 Tenneland, 10 Toftøen, 9 Toftøsundet, 12 Topnes, 33 Tveit

34 Vargarviken, 35 Vassenden, 43 Vasstølen, 38 Vasvaag, 13 Vik, 43 Viken

48 Ødegaarden, 57 Øverland, 61 Øvrebø

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names