Navajo County, Arizona Genealogy
Guide to Navajo County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Navajo County, Arizona|
Location in the state of Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
|Founded||March 21, 1895|
|Address||100 East Carter|
P.O. Box 668
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Land
- 5.6 Local Histories
- 5.7 Maps
- 5.8 Military
- 5.9 Newspapers
- 5.10 Obituaries
- 5.11 Probate
- 5.12 Taxation
- 5.13 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Family History Centers
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Navajo County Arizona
P O Box 668
Holbrook, Az 86025-0668
Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce, probate
and court records, County Recorder has land records 
Description[edit | edit source]
The County has Holbrook as its seat and the County was created March 21, 1895. The County is located in the north central area of the state.
History[edit | edit source]
Udall, Don T. Udall Family Papers. 1946. Correspondence, family history manuscripts, photographs, and a "Record of Protests" ledger relating to Don Udall's service as Navajo County Superior Court Judge, and his family and genealogy. Correspondence, from his service as Judge, deals with routine matters such as employment, juvenile correction, adoptions, divorce, petitions for release from jury duty, assistance in obtaining probation, and state and local politics. There are manuscripts about the Udall and Patterson families as well as a history of the Holbrook Lions Club. There is a photograph of Don Udall. The alphabetical "Record of Protests" ledger lists protests over import duty rates for goods imported from Mexico; it gives name, type of material imported, means of transport into the country, and statement of resolution, 1923-1959. WorldCat 43080690
Parent County[edit | edit source]
- Until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- In 1821 - Mexico obtained jurisdiction over the land that later would become Arizona. Records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- 18 Aug 1846 - During the war with Mexico, the US took control of Santa Fe and proclaimed sovereignty over the land that later became the New Mexico Territory. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 4 July 1848 - In the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo, Mexico ceded part of present day Arizona, including all of present day Navajo County. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- In 1852 - New Mexico Territory created counties that stretched east and west from the Texas border to the California border, including all the land that later became Arizona. The land covered by present-day Navajo County, Arizona was once part of Taos, San Juan (1861-1862 only), Rio Arriba, Santa Ana, Bernalillo, Valencia, and Socorro counties of New Mexico.  Look for records in Socorro, Bernalillo, Rio Arriba, Taos, and Valencia counties.
- 24 Feb 1863 - The US created the Arizona Territory from the western half of New Mexico Territory. All previous counties were discontinued for this new territory. Look for records in the Arizona State Library and New Mexico State Records Center and Archives
- 14 February 1879 - Apache County was created from Yavapai County.  This county named for the Apache Indians. Look for records in Apache and Yavapai counties.
21 March 1895 - Arizona created Navajo County from the west half of Apache County. County seat: Holbrook  This county named for the Navajo Indians. Look for records in Apache and Navajo counties.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
See Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.
For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
- Great Register of Navajo County, Arizona Territory. Navajo County [Ariz.]: County Recorder, 1800. WorldCat 71332919
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Navajo County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Arizona cemetery records by County.
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Navajo County, Arizona Genealogy census records online, see: Arizona Census.
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints: Clay Springs, Heber, Holbrook, Joseph City, Lakeside, Linden, Pinedale, Showlow, Shumway, Snowflake, Taylor, Winslow and Woodruff .
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Recorded documents can be search online. Searchable documents exist starting in 1989. Unofficial images are available starting in 1995. To search for older documents requires a visit to
Navajo County AZ Recorders Office
PO Box 668
100 E Code Talkers Dr
Holbrook AZ 86025
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Navajo County, Arizona Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.
Journal of May Louise Hunt Larsen of Snowflake AZ. Journal kept between 1894 and 1943.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Arizona Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Arizona, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Finding More Arizona Newspapers[edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Navajo County, Arizona Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1959-2014 - Arizona, Mesa LDS Family History Center, Obituary Index, 1959-2014 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Probate[edit | edit source]
From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Subjects Search for Arizona, Navajo - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1855-1930 - Arizona, Birth Certificates and Indexes, 1855-1930 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1909-1917 - Arizona Select Births and Christenings 1909-1917 at Ancestry.com — index $
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1895-1912 - Arellano, Fay Louise Smith. Arizona Territorial Marriages. Navajo County, 1895-1912. Mesa, AZ: Arizona Genealogical Advisory Board, 2001. WorldCat 49016868
- 1895-1912 - 393 marriages from 13 May 1895 to 15 Feb 1912 are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
- 1833-1949 - Arizona, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1888-1908 - Arizona Select Marriages 1888-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1871-1964 - Arizona, County Marriages, 1871–1964 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection
- 1864-1982 - Arizona Marriage Collection 1864-1982 at Ancestry.com — index $
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1910-1911 and 1933-1994 - Arizona Select Deaths and Burials 1910-1911 and 1933-1994;at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Navajo County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 473 >br. Holbrook, AZ 86025
Hours 8-5 daily
Show Low Historical Society
541 E. Deuce of Clubs St.
Show Low, AZ 85902
Telephone 928-532-7115 Hours 1-5 Tues.-Fri.; 10-2 Sat., April 15-Oct. 20
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center MapIntroduction to Family History Centers
1127 Helen Ave
Holbrook, Navajo, Arizona, United States
State Route 264
Polacca, Navajo, Arizona, United States
Show Low Arizona
1401 W Deuce of Clubs
Show Low, Navajo, Arizona, United States
284 W 1st N
Snowflake, Navajo, Arizona, United States
205 W Lee St
Winslow, Navajo, Arizona, United States
Main St & 1st St
Woodruff, Navajo, Arizona, United States
These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Navajo County, AZ History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb for Navajo county Arizona May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Navajo County, Arizona Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Navajo County, Arizona. Page 56-57 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 52.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Navajo County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Navajo, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Navajo_County,_Arizona 7/10/2017.
- Williams 108-110
- U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
- William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at (accessed 9 August 2011).
- U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
- WorldCat 50140092 FHL CollectionHandybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1879, 10th assy./ pp. 96-97
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1895, 18th assy./ pp. 96-105
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Navajo County, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Navajo_County,_Arizona, accessed 24 February 2019.