Nash County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Nash County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Nash County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African-Americans
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Church Records
- 4.5 County Records
- 4.6 Court
- 4.7 Directories
- 4.8 Education
- 4.9 Family Histories
- 4.10 Land
- 4.11 Local Histories
- 4.12 Maps
- 4.13 Military
- 4.14 Newspapers
- 4.15 Probate
- 4.16 Taxation
- 4.17 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Nash County is located in the Eastern portion of North Carolina and was named for Revolutionary War General Francis Nash.
Nash County Courthouse
Rm 104 P O Box 104
Nashville, NC 27856
Reg of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913 and marriage records from 1872
Clerk Superio Court has divorce and court records 1876
oldest will in Dept of Archives Raleigh NC
Register of Deeds
PO Box 974
Nashville, NC 27856
Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 759
Nashville, NC 27856
Telephone: (252) 220-3000
Nash County was formed in 1777 from the western part of Edgecombe County. It was named for American Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Nash (1742-1777) of Hillsborough, who had been mortally wounded at the Battle of Germantown that year while fighting under General George Washington. Nashville, the County seat, was settled in 1780 and chartered in 1815. After the Revolutionary War, the County settled down to a pace that made it one of the State's leading farm areas. Since the Civil War, it has been known primarily as a leading agricultural County, but it has experienced steady industrial growth since that time.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch — index and images
- Nash County census information - via Nash County NCGenWeb
For tips on accessing Nash County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Historical sketch of the First Presbyterian Church of Rocky Mount, North Carolina - via the Eastern NC Digital Library
- Several NC state business directories are available online. Visit this list of directories, open the directory, and navigate to Nash County. Directories include information on area businesses and citizens.
- Wesleyan College Yearbooks: 1962-2009 - freely available via the NC Digitization Center
- Rosenwald Schools in Nash County (African-American)
- Nash County students at NC colleges – via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
- Boddie - Leary, Helen F.M. "The Two William Boddies of North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 66, No. 1 (Jan. 1991):16-29; Vol. 62, No. 2 (Apr. 1991):106-110; Vol. 66, No. 3 (Jul. 1991):148-153. Available at FHL.
- Pridgen - Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online Pridgen family of Sapony Creek, Nash County, North Carolina : some descendants of William Pridgen, d. ca. 1762, Vol. II - full-text freely available via Brigham Young University.
The first land grants in the area date from 1743.
- Nash County deeds -- via NCGenWeb Archives
- Property records 1995 - present - searchable database via the Nash County Register of Deeds
- Local histories of Nash county
- Rocky Mount Mills : carded cotton yarns, Rocky Mount, N.C. - via the Eastern NC Digital Library
- Rocky Mount Mills, a case history of industrial development, 1818-1943 - via the Eastern NC Digital Library
- Nash County maps - via NC Maps collection of UNC-Chapel Hill
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Roster of Nash County Confederate soldiers - via the Eastern NC Digital Library
Regiments. Service men in Nash County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Nash County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 7th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
- - 13th Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company B
- - 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company A
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 1st Company E
- - 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain D W William's Company
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Nash County newspapers - a listing of newspapers published in the county; via the Library of Congress
- North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project - contains full-text papers from 1752-1890s. Search for your Nash County ancestors.
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 -North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- Pre - 1790 - Pre-1790 Nash County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1776 - 1964 - Will Books 1 to 13 (1776-1964) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Nash County residents wills - via NCGenWeb
- Nash County wills & estates - via NCGenWeb Archives
- Images of Wills & Estates 1778-1867; 1867-1897. North Carolina Pioneers ($)
- 1782 - Tax Lists, Nash County, 1782 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1782 - Tax Lists, Nash County, 1782 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1782 - Nash County, NC, 1782 Tax List (transcript) online at FamilySearch
Uncertified copies of vital records can be ordered for a small fee from the Register of Deeds. Please visit their website for more information.
- 1787 - 1835 - Nash County Bastard Bonds 1787-1835 at USGenWeb - free.
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1799 - 1893 - Nash County marriages - are included in Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searcheable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1926 - 1975 - North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1958 - 2004 - North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- Nash County obituaries - via NCGenWeb Archives
- Nash County deaths - - list of county area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
Societies and Libraries
Tar River Connections Genealogical Society
PO Box 8764
Rocky Mount, NC 27803-8764
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Nash County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Nash County, NCGenWeb Project
- Nash County, USGenWeb Archives
- Nash County Register of Deeds
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Moore County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:488; 2:566. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990; "Falls of the Tar Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.