To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Nantwich, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Nantwich, Cheshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Nantwich, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

[[Image:|thumb|right|St Mary's Church Nantwich Cheshire.jpg]]

Nantwich, Cheshire
St Mary's Church Nantwich Cheshire.jpg
St Mary's Church Nantwich Cheshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; For more records see Acton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

NANTWICH (St. Mary and St. Nicholas), is a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Nantwich, and the Southern division of the county of Chester; containing, with the townships of Alvaston, Leighton, Woolstanwood, and part of Willaston. The town is only a few miles distant from the great railway station at Crewe. There are places of worship in the parish for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Unitarians.[1]

Nantwich St Mary a former chapelry of Acton Ancient parish in Cheshire includes Alvaston, Woolstanwood, Wool Stanwood, and Willaston.  The oldest building in the town is St Mary's Church, which dates from the 14th century. 

Following the dissolution of the monasteries, six chantry chapels were removed in 1548. Between 1572 and 1577 the transept ceilings were renewed, and between 1615 and 1633.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Nantwich parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Nantwich Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1909
1572-1910
1572-1910
FMP Diocese BTs 1538-1909
1572-1910
1572-1910
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Nantwich, St. Anne (Roman Catholic), Pillory Street. Founded 1832, the present church was Built in 1936. Registers of baptisms 1868–1963, marriages 1869–1939 and burials 1868–1966 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Friends' Meeting House, Pillory Street. Founded 17th century, closed in 1928. Registers 1776–1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Baptist Union Chapel, Market Street. Founded 1653, rebuilt in 1873.
  • Nantwich, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Hospital Street. Built in 1808. Registers 1819–1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Welsh Row. Built in 1840.
  • Nantwich, Ebenezer Methodist Chapel (Free), Castle Street. Built in 1857, closed in 1908.
  • Nantwich, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Broad Lane. Built in 1864.
  • Nantwich, Wood Memorial Methodist Chapel (Primitive), The Barony. Built in 1881, closed in 1965. Registers 1920–1965 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Methodist Church, Pillary Street. Built in 1908, closed in 1966. Registers 1913–1965 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Unitarian Chapel, Hospital Street. Built in 1672, rebuilt in 1830. Records of baptisms 1894–1953, marriages 1896–1925 and deaths 1893–1925 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Unitarian Chapel (Baptist), Barker Street. Founded 1700.
  • Nantwich, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Church Lane/Monks Lane. Founded 1780, Built in 1842. Records of births/baptisms 1813–1955, marriages 1856–1934 and burials 1800–1905 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central (post 1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish. See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Nantwich on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Bilsborough, Norman (1983), The Treasures of Cheshire, Manchester: The North West Civic Trust, pp. 155–157, ISBN 0901347353

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 285–287, ISBN 0 300 09588 0