Nacka Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Nacka Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
The municipality's name harkens back to a 16th-century industrial operation established by the Crown at Nacka farmstead where conditions for water mills are good. That spot is now, however, not densely populated, and the municipal seat is on land that once belonged to Järla farmstead on the other side of Lake Järla.
One of many battles during the Great Northern War took place in the most eastern part of Nacka. In 1719, Russian forces burned and raided the eastern coast of Sweden.
The municipality has had a continuous population increase since the 1960s, almost doubling the population. Today it is the third most populous municipality in Stockholm County.
|Nacka Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy|
|Län||1634-1639 Uppsala, 1640-1647 Stockholm, 1648-1651 Uppsala, 1652-1653 Stockholm, 1654-1688 Uppsala, 1689-1719 Södermanland, 1720- Stockholm|
|Militär indelning||add here|
|NAD Ref Code||add here|
|National Archive SVAR||here?property=P5324 link|
|Swedish Wikipedia||here?lang=sv link|
|SCB Congregation map||here?property=P778 link|
|Open Street map||here?property=P625 link|
Also known as Saltsjöbaden. The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Stockholm Church Records, 1556-1939, index 1634-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Stockholm Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Stockholm and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Nacka parish, Husförhörslängd, 1841-1847, Ort register.
Riksarkivet. "Nacka" Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). January 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/