Nørup Parish, Vejle, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Vejle County
Nørup


Nørup Kirke lies 15 Kilometers west of Vejle. Belonging to Engelsholm Manor, Nørup Kirke was remodeled in 1732-33 by Gerhard de Lichtenberg adding the onion domes to the romanesque style building matching Englesholm Manor. Nørup Sogn began recording Birth, Marriage and Death Records in 1679.

Nørup Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Ribe Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Randbøl-Nørup Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Koldinghhus
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Vejle
Herred (district) Tørrild
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 58-59
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 44-45
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 3 / 249 - 250
Gods (estate) Jerlev herreds provsti; Slavs herreds provsti; Tørrild herreds provsti; Haraldskær gods; Engelsholm gods; Brandholm gods; Nørvang Herredsret; Tørrild Herredsret


Place Names

Abildgaard,

Engelsholm, Engelsholm Mark,

Førstballe,

Gammelby, Gjødding, Gødding, Gødding Huse, Gødding Skov,

Kobberbøl, Kongsdal,

Lihmskov, Lille Lihme, Lille Lihme Østermark,

Mørup, Mørup Mark,

Ny Nørup, Nørup, Nørupdal,

Randbøldal, Rodal,

Schæferhus, Sillehus, Småkær, Store Lihme, Store Lihme Østermark, Sødover, Sødover Mark, Søgaard,

Trollerup, Tørrild

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Vejle Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Vejle" and then select your parish.


References

-Krabsen & Medici.
"Krabsens Stednavnebase" Dec 2011
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4d ed. Vol.7, Aarhus og Vejle Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920