Nærbø Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Nærbø, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
|Fylke 1919-Present||add here|
|Fogderi||Jæderen og Dalene|
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Hå clerical district contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Nærbø, Varhaug, Nærem and Bø. Earlier church records were burned in 1787. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
1664-1666 Census (Manntall)
Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt I Database
- 1701 Census (Manntall)
Manntall 1701 Hå Microfilm
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.
Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database
- 1801 Census (Folketellingen)
1801-telling for Haae Database
1815 Census (Folketelling)
- 1865 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Hå Microfilm
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
1865-telling for Haa Database
- 1875 Census (Folketellingen)
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
- 1900 Census (Folketellingen)
This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.
1900-telling for Nærbø Database
- 1910 Census (Folketellingen]
Court Records[edit | edit source]
The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.
These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, Hå, Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Availability[edit | edit source]
Jæren og Dalane judicial district
*1666-1822 Family History Library
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet Jæren judicial district
*1763-1821 Family History Library
*1859-1896 Digitalarkivet. Jæren deanery
*1763-1821 Clerical probate records Family History Library
Farm Book[edit | edit source]
Farm books with vital information on farm residents in Nærbø, Hå, and Ogna, Rogaland co., Norway. Hå community includes Varhaug and Vigrestad in Jæren district.
Edland, Torgeir, "Gards og ættesoge" Hå: Hå kommune, 1971-1975 948.31/H3 D2ea Vol. 1 for Nærbø-- Vol. 2 for Hå-- Vol. 3 for Ogna FHL Intl Book
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
36 Aaen, 35 Aardal, 8 Alveneset, 32 Are
22 Bakkene, 25 Bjaarhaug 23 Bjorland, 5 Bruholen, 4 Bækkeheien, 26 Bø
29 Gausland, 26 Gjerdene, 27 Grødeim, 14 Grødeland, 28 Gudmestad
38 Haaland vestre, 9 Haavaags Laksefiskeri, 38 Hagen, 35 Harveland, 1 Heien, 5 Høiland, 18 Høneland
9 Kaffeholen, 25 Krusen, 19 Kvie,
24 Leirfenet 33 Lindal, 17 Lode
20 Motland store, 18 Motland øde,
16 Neseim, 7 Nesjane, 8 Njæreim, 22 Nærbø, 7 Nærland, 30 Nølstad
11 Obrestad, 5 Oddebakken, 35 Opstad, 5 Osen
6 Refsnes, 12 Reime nordre, 1 Rimestad, 31 Rise, 19 Rongen
26 Skatteberget, 21 Skjerpe, 26 Skjæreberget, 29 Skoreberget, 34 Sveine, 5 Svimbel, 3 Søiland
24 Taarland, 16 Taarlandsnesjane
32 Vaaland, 15 Vigre 15 Vigrevolden
Bekkeheien, Bjorland, Bjorhaug, Bø,
Gausland, Grødaland, Grøtheim, Gudmestad Haa,
Läge-Häland, Lindal, Lode,
Nærland, Næsheim, Nærbø, Næsheim, Njærheim, Njølstad
Refsnes, Reime, Rimestad, Risa,
Skjærpe, Sør-Reime, Søylnad, Store-Håland, Svine,
Väland, (Vestre Håland),Vigre,
Ødemotlalnd, Ødemotlalnd, (Øystre Håland,)