To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Nätra Parish, Västernorrland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Nätra Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Ulvö Chapel
Nätra Church

History[edit | edit source]

Nätra was mentioned as its own gäll in 1314 along with the parish of Sidensjö (which was ) created the same century. Since the beginning of the 1600's the pastor from Nätra would usually preach 2 sermons a year at the Ulvö fishing village..



Nätra Parish, Västernorrland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift pre - 1647 Uppsala Ärke, 1647 - to present Härnösand
Pastorat Up to the early 1500's Nätra and Sidensjö were in the same pastorat. At that time Sidensjö broke away creating its own pastorat. From the 1500's forward Nätra has been the only parish in its patorat.
Län Västernorrland
Landskap Ångermanland
Härad not applicable in Västernorrland
Tingslag pre 1929 Nätra Tingslag
Domsaga 1930 - 1970 Ångermanlands norra domsagas
Fögderi add here
Kommun 1863 - 1970 Nätra
1971 - Örnsköldsvik
Militär indelning 2:a Norrlands 2:adels båtsmanskompani 22
NAD Ref Code SE/HLA/1010149
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Bergom, Bjällsta, Bjästa, Björkåbäck, Björsby, Blåvik, Bredånger, Bräcke, Bäck, Bölen

Dal

Eden

Finnborg, Fors, Fröstdal, Förnätra

Genesön, Gladom, Gärden

Hagaris, Hummelvik, Hålviken, Hälle

Järvvik

Kornsjö

Långnäs

Mjäla

Norrsvedje, Norrtjärn, Norum, Nyland, Näs, Näske, Nätra, Nässjö, Nässjöbäcken

Orrvik

Prästbordet

Sandvik, Sel, Sjögom, Skrike, Skule, Skulnäs, Spjute, Strängön, Sunnansjö, Sörgård, Sörsvedje, Sörtjärn

Trysunda, Trysundaön

Ulvön, Utby

Vik, Västansjö, Västanå, Västersel, Ytterböle

Åmynnet

Öden, Östersel

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Sidensjö, Själevad, Vibyggerå

Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Church Records

All the early church records were destroyed in the fire of 1807. The birth, marriage, and death records begin in 1809 and are consistent forward in time after that. There is a communion record that spans from 1768 to 1822. The flyttningsattester span 1815 to 1878. The earliest Husförhörslängd is begins in 1810. They are consistent up to 1895 when they were changed over to Församlingsböcker. The Husföhör seem to be kept well although they do not list the birth place, or a birth day and month up until about 1865.

  • Court Records


  • Military Records


Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Västernorrland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Västernorrland" and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

Nätra Hembygdsförening

  • Printed

The book Släkter och gårdar i Nätra by Jan O. Nordvall and Per Sundin is the comprehensive source for the people who lived in Nätra between 1535 – 1900.

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Nätra Hembygdsförening
The Nätra Hembygdsförening was founded in 1935. The society is located at the Hembygdsgården (the local Folk History site) located at Prästbordet between the church and the medieval church ruins. The manor house where they meet was built in the 1700s and comes from Näske village.

References[edit | edit source]

Nordvall, Jan O., Sundin, Per. Släkter och gårdar i Nätra 1535 – 1900. Bjästa: Ågrenshuset Produktion, 2009

Riksarkivet. "Nätra församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2010 <http://www.nad.ra.se/>

Nätra, Husförhörslängd 1839-1846, Ortregister

C M Rosenberg geografiskt lexikon.

Nätra Kyrkoherde. "Förteckning över Nätra Kyrkoarkiv." Nätra 1950