Myland St Michael, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Myland St Michael


Guide to Myland St Michael, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Myland St Michael, Essex
Myland St Michael Essex.jpg
Myland St Michael Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Colchester Borough
County Essex
Poor Law Union Colchester
Registration District Colchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Colchester
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Mile-End, or Mile-End-St. Michael, or Myland, is a parish in Colchester district, Essex; on the river Colne and on the Great Eastern railway, N of Colchester railway station, within Colchester borough, and 1¼ miles N of the centre of Colchester town. Post town is, Colchester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Myland St Michael, Essex Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
1678

Indexes



1678-1882 findmypast[2]

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office

Non-Conformist Churches

Primitive Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Colchester Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870). Adapted: date accessed 19 May 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.