To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Muscogee County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Muscogee County, Georgia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Muscogee County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Columbus
Organized: December 11, 1826
Parent County(s): Creek Indian lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Chattahoochee  • Harris  • Lee (AL)  • Russell (AL)  • Talbot
See County Maps
Courthouse
Muscogee (Columbus) County Court House Columbus, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Muscogee County Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the native Muscogee or Creek people. The County is located in the west central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Muscogee County Courthouse
100 10th Street
PO Box 1340
Columbus, GA 31902
Phone: 706-653-4013
Muscogee County Website

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1838.[3]

Muscogee County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1924 1842 1924 1838 1838 1840 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1838 The courthouse and court offices at Columbus burned 8 October 1838. Almost all the county records were lost.[5]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1826 Muscogee County was created 11 December 1826 from Creek Indian lands.
  • County seat: Columbus[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Muscogee County, Georgia:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Muscogee, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Muscogee County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Columbus

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Muscogee County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Martin, John H. Columbus, Geo., From Its Selection as a "Trading Town" in 1827, to Its Partial Destruction by Wilson's Raid, in 1865: History, Incident, Personality. Columbus, Ga.: T. Gilbert, 1874-1875. Digital version at Ancestry ($)
  • Telfair, Nancy. A History of Columbus, Georgia: 1828-1928. Columbus, Ga.: Historical Pub. Co., c1929. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Harris CountyTalbot CountyChattahoochee CountyLee CountyRussell CountyGA MUSCOGEE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Muscogee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Muscogee County:

- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Ramsey's) (Confederate), Company B
- 2nd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and G
- 5th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 10th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 11th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 17th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and F
- 20th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B, G and I
- 28th Battalion, Georgia Siege Artillery (Confederate), Company D and G
- 31st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A and B
- 35th Battalion, Georgia (Confederate), Companies A and B
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and K; Companies F and K, 3d Battalion
- 38th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 46th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and K
- 54th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and H
- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies F and I


  • Whitehead, Margaret Laney, and Barbara Bogart. 1979. City of progress: a history of Columbus, Georgia. Columbus, Georgia: Cosco Press. (page 116, 154) 975.8473 H2w
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Muscogee County). 1965. Confederate roster, and Confederate pension roll, 1919-1965. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. (United States, Georgia, Muscogee -- Military records -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pensions.) 422017


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Columbus Public Library
    3000 Macon Rd.
    Columbus, GA 31906
    Phone: 706-243-2681
    Website
    Genealogy Department
    Local histories, biographies, censuses, maps, newspapers, genealogy classes, and more.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Historic Columbus Foundation
    700 Broadway
    Columbus, GA 31901-2921
    Website
  • Muscogee Genealogical Society
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Muscogee County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muscogee_County,_Georgia accessed 2 Nov 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Muscogee County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 45-46. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.