Mountsorrel, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Mountsorrel, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Barrow upon Soar|
|Registration District||Barrow upon Soar|
|Parish registers: 1677; For more records see Barrow upon Soar and also Rothley|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1604|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Rothley|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MOUNTSORREL, a market-town and chapelry, partly in the parish of Rothley, but chiefly in that of Barrow, union of Barrow, hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 7½ miles (N.) from Leicester, and 104½ (N. N. W.) from London. There are four places of worship for dissenters.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Mountsorrel, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Mountsorrel, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Mountsorrel St Peter (North End) Bap 1677 - 1958 Marr 1677 - 1982 (Banns to 1981) Bur 1677 - 1859
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.