Mount Bures, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Mount Bures, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Mount Bures


Guide to Mount Bures, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mount Bures, Essex
St. John Mount Bures, Essex .jpg
St. John Mount Bures, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lexden (Colchester)
County Essex
Poor Law Union Lexden and Winstree
Registration District Lexden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Halstead
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Bures, Mount (St. John) or Mount Bures, is a parish, in the union of Lexden and Winstree, it is in the division of Essex, 6 miles S S E from Sudbury. The parish is situated on the banks of the river Stour.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BIVRI Marriages 1813-1837

Mount Bures, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Mount Bures, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1540-1958
1558-1837
1546-1994
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Curches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Lexden and Winstree Poor Law Union, Essex

[4]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Mount Bures on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Wilson John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870) Adapted: date accessed 19 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 11 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  4. From: 'Mount Bures: Local government', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 10: Lexden Hundred (Part) including Dedham, Earls Colne and Wivenhoe (2001), pp. 74. British History. Date accessed: 14 February 2011.