To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Ashton under Lyne
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1583
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MOTTRAM-IN-LONGDENDALE (St. Michael), is a parish, in the union of Ashton-under-Lyne, hundred of Macclesfield, and Northern division of the county of Chester; comprising the townships of Godley, Hattersley, Hollingworth,Matley, Mottram, Newton, Stayley, and Tintwistle; it is 10 miles (E. by S.) from Manchester.  Within the parish are three stations on the Manchester and Sheffield railway, one about a mile from Mottram, one at Newton, and the third at Woodhead. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Mottram in Longdendale St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient parish in Cheshire and includes Godley, Hattersley, Stayley, Matley, Micklehurst, and Hollingworth.

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Mottram in Longdendale like this:

MOTTRAM, a sub-district in the district of Ashton-under-Lyne, and county of Chester; containing the townships of Mottram, Hattersley, Hollingworth, and Tintwistle, in Mottram-in-Longdendale parish. The full name of Mottram in Longdendale was established by 1308 - literally meaning "place where meetings are held in the dale of the long valley".

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Motram in Longdendale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Mottram in Longdendale Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  •  Broadbottom, Church of the Immaculate Conception (Roman Catholic). Founded 1896.
  •  Mottram, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan).
  •  Mottram, Unitarian Chapel. Built in 1846.
  •  Mottram, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Built in 1846.

Non-Conformist Records:

Church records, 1798-1834  Mottram Chapel (Mottram-in-Longdendale, Cheshire : New Conexion Methodist) 

Notes Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London. Births and baptisms, 1798-1834. RG-4 series no. 187.

Other Content FHL Film
Church records BRITISH 20048 Item 16

Baptisms from the Methodist Chapel, Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire
Stmnt.Resp. transcribed by Aril Hulme ; index by Sally Allett Microreproduction of manuscript housed at the Manchester and Lancashire Family History Society Library, Manchester Includes index. Manchester and Lancashire FHS Library no.: RC 650

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms from the Methodist Chapel, Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire BRITISH 1656925 Item 5

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Ashton under Lyne (1837-1936)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Ashton under Lyne

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Mottram in Longdendale on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk