Motley County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Motley County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Motley County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||August 21, 1876|
|Address||Motley County Courthouse|
PO Box 66
Matador, TX 79244
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Census
- 5.4 Church
- 5.5 Court
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Obituaries
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Junius William Mottley, a signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence. Mottley's name is spelled incorrectly because the bill establishing the county misspelled his name. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Motley County Courthouse
PO Box 66
Matador, TX 79244
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1891
and land records from 1891 with some earlier
County and District Clerk
P.O. Box 660
Motley County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
General compliance by the 1930s.
History[edit | edit source]
1878 and 1891--The first settlers arrived in 1878. The first settlement was Matador in 1891.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1876--Motley County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District.
- County seat: Matador.
Named in honor of Dr. Junius William Mottley, 1811-1836, signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence and aide to General Rusk at the Battle of San Jacinto where he was mortally wounded. 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1944--Motley County Courthouse, built about 1904, was destroyed by fire Sept 1944. No vital records were lost, but some were damaged by water.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1870 Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records(images) - FamilySearch
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|BillionGraves||Names in Stone|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Political Graveyard - Site tells where all of the dead politicians are buried.
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1880 Census Transcription ~ USGenWeb Census Project
- 1900 Census Surname Index ~ Motley County TXGenWeb
- 1910 Census Partial Index ~ Motley County TXGenWeb
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Original Land Owners of Texas - Motley County - USGenWeb Archives
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Motley County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Surnames of Motley County - Motley County TXGenWeb
- Afred Hightower Barton
- Charlie David Bird
- Henry Harrison Campbell
- Arthur G. Ligertwood
Books About Local History
- "The Early History of Motley County" by Harry H. Campbell
- "Of Such As These, A History of Motley County and it's Families" by Eleanor Mitchell Traweek
- "Interments In Motley County, Texas to March 1977" by Rita Groves
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1838 - 1900 - Texas Muster Roll Index Cards at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Motley County Veterans Motley County TXGenWeb
- A Salute to Our Fallen Heroes - Honoring those who gave their lives to protect our freedom.
- Veterans - A salute to those who served our county.
- Photo of the Motley County Veteran's Memorial Motley County TXGenWeb
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Motley County Confederate Pension Applications Motley County TXGenWeb
- Confederate Pension Application Index USGenWeb Motley County Archives
World War I[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Motley County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Old Newspaper Clippings - Motley County TXGenWeb
- Motley County Tribune
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records; Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1903-1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903-1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index) - FamilySearch
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802 - 2010 Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966 - 2006 Marriages 1966 - 2006
- 1966 - 2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 FamilySearch record collection
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890 - 1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976.
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903 - 2000 Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968-2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Motley County Genealogical Society
PO Box 557
Matador, TX 79244
Motley County Library
1105 Main Street
PO Box 557
Matador, TX 79244
Motley Co. Chamber of Commerce
828 Dundee St.
(Old Traweek Hospital)
PO Box 788
Matador, TX 79244
Telephone Number: 806-347-2968
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Motley County TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- Motley County TXGenWeb. History, vital statistics, biographies, photos, newspaper clippings, surnames, maps, obituaries and other Motley County information.
- USGenWeb Motley County Archives. Vital statistics, census information, cemetery transcriptions, photographs, land owners and more.
- Search for an Ancestor - Family Search.
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Mottley, Texas" in "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motley_County,_Texas. accessed 11/22/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Motley County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Motley County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- GenDisasters.com (http://www.gendisasters.com) Matador, TX Motley County Courthouse Fire, Sept 1944 (http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/17519/matador-tx-courthouse-fire-sept-1944)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Motley County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motley_County,_Texas, Last accessed 18 August 2019.