To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Mossley, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Mosley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MOSSLEY, a chapelry in Astbury parish, Cheshire; on the river Dane, adjacent to Staffordshire and to the North Staffordshire railway, 1½ mile E of Congleton. It was constituted in 1846. Post town, Congleton. [1]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Mossley Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Mossley Holy Trinity (1858) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
1864-1864
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1871-1891
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1871-189
  NONE

Mossley was chapelry in Astbury, created parish 1858.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Mossley (near Congleton), 1845-1886 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P213/1/12, P213/2/1-4.

Baptisms, 1845-1886.

Parish Registers: Mossley Film
Baptisms, 1845-1886.
2104846 Item 11

Bishop's transcripts for Mossley, 1857-1891

Bishops Transcripts: Mosley
Film
Baptisms, 1857-1860, burials, 1858-1859, baptisms, burials, 1872, burials, 1871-1872, baptisms, 1871-1872. baptisms, burials, 1873-1876, baptisms, 1877-1878, burials, 1877-1878, baptisms, 1879-1891, burials, 1879-1891.
1647429 Item 5
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Not Known

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Congleton (1837-1937)
  • Macclesfield (1937-74)
  • Congleton & Crewe (1974-88)
  • South Cheshire (1988-98)
  • Cheshire West (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Congleton

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Bibliography[edit | edit source]


FamilySearch