Mosbjerg Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Hjørring County
Mosbjerg

Guide to Mosbjerg, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Mosbjerg Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Aalborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Tolne-Mosbjerg Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Åstrup
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred (district) Horns
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 7
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 7
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names

Abildgaard

Bakken, Bjørnager, Bjørnager Bakke, Bjørnager Teglværker, Bjørnbæk, Blæsbjerg, Blæsbjerghus, Bollehede, Bollehede Bæk, Bovet, Bratten, Brettet, Brokbakke, Bæksted

Dyrhaven

Ellen, Ellevehøje, Eskær, Eskær Hede, Eskær Møllegaard, Eskær Skov, Evishøje

Gaden, Gammel Nordkap, Grandebakke, Granly, Graarup, Graarup Bæk, Graarup Mølle, Grøndal, Grønhede

Hedelund, Hestehaven, Holmbo, Holmeng, Hvirp, Højbjerg, Højbjerghus, Højen, Høngaard

Jakobshøj

Kabbelhede, Karlshøj, Klitten, Kokkerhøj, Korsholt, Korsiglund, Kringelbakke, Krogskær, Kurrebakke, Kæret, Kærhus

Lak-hjem, Langager, Lille Graarup, Lille Møgelbjerg, Lille Terkels, Lopbakke, Løgte Høje

Mosbjerg, Mosbjerg Hede, Mosegaard, Mosevang, Moseaaen, Mulebakke, Mønsted, Maastrup, Maastrup Enge, Maastrup Hede, Maastrup Mose

Nebhøj, Nielsminde, Nordkap, Norsaa, Ny Nordkap, Ny Nørgaard, Nørre Abildsgaarde, Nørre Blæsbjerg, Nørre Graarup, Nørregaard, Nørrehede, Nørre Storgaard

Overgaard

Porsen, Porsens Mølle, Putten

Rughaven, Raabhøj, Rønbakke

Sandhus, Sankt Jørgenshøj, Skellet, Skovbo, Sortehøj, Stenderup, Stensbæk Skov, Store Pleth, Storgaard, Sønder Abildgaarde, Sønderbroen, Sønder Graarup, Søndergaard, Søndergaard Bakker, Sønder Storgaard, Sønder Sørig

Terkels, Troldhætten, Taagaard

Vagthøj, Vandbakhus, Vangshøj, Vester Blæsbjerg, Vester Nørregaard, Vester Søndergaard, Vester Vaaen, Vestergaarde, Vestermark, Vestervig, Vien, Vien Bæk, Vogn, Vogn Enge, Vaaen

Øster Blæsbjerg, Østergaard, Øster Nørregaard, Øster Storgaard, Øster Søndergaard, Øster Vaaen

Aagaard, Aahuset

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Hjørring amt: Bindslev, Elling, Hørmested, Råbjerg, Sindal, Tolne, Tværsted

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.