Morrison County, Minnesota Genealogy
Guide to Morrison County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Morrison County, Minnesota|
Location in the state of Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
|Founded||February 25, 1856|
|County Seat||Little Falls|
|Address|| Morrison County Courthouse|
213 1st Ave SE
Little Falls, MN 56345
Morrison County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for fur trading brothers, William and Allan Morrison. The County is located in the central area of the state. 
Morrison County, Minnesota Record Dates
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and some cemetery records,
land and military records; Court Administration has divorce, probate and court records
County seat: Little Falls 
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Morrison County Historical Society Morrison County Historical Society WPA Biographies. 1,130 biographies written 1936–1939. Index available online. Copies can be requested by calling the Morrison County Historical Society at 320-632-4007 or e–mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1865 - Minnesota State Census, 1865 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Minnesota State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - Minnesota State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — index and images
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Emigration and Immigration
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Morrison – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local histories are available for Morrison County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Civil War service men from Morrison County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Morrison County.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morrison County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
The Morrison County Historical Society has a large collection of newspapers, both in original format and on microfilm. Online listing. Copies can be requested by calling the Morrison County Historical Society at 320-632-4007 or e–mail email@example.com. Research and copy fees will apply.
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Online Probate Records
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.
- 1850-2001 - Minnesota, County Deaths, 1850-2001 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Online Minnesota Death Records & Indexes
Societies and Libraries
Morrison County Historical Society
PO Box 239
2151 South Lindbergh Dr
Little Falls MN 56345
Military Historical Society of Minnesota
15000 Highway 115
Little Falls MN 56345-4173
Central Minnesota Historical Center
Centennial Hall, Room 148
St. Cloud University
St. Cloud, MN 56301
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Collection: Morrison County Historical Society
- WPA Biographies. 1,130 biographies written 1936–1939. Index available online.
- Local newspapers. Online listing.
Copies may be requested by contacting the Historical Society. Research and copy fees apply.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Morrison County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morrison_County,_Minnesota accessed 13 Nov 2018
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morrison County, Minnesota page 366, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).