Morris County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Morris County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Morris County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||6 March, 1875|
|Address||Morris County Courthouse|
500 Broadnax St
Daingerfield, TX 75638
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American Resources
- 4.2 Chamber of Commerce
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Churches
- 4.6 Court
- 4.7 Funeral Homes
- 4.8 Historical Markers
- 4.9 Hospitals
- 4.10 Land
- 4.11 Landmarks
- 4.12 Local Histories
- 4.13 Maps
- 4.14 Military
- 4.15 Newspapers
- 4.16 Probate
- 4.17 Taxation
- 4.18 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for William Wright Morris. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Morris County Courthouse
500 Broadnax Street
Daingerfield, Texas 75638-1315
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage and probate records from 1875, land records
from 1849 and some delayed birth records; District
Clerk has divorce and court records
500 Broadnax St.
500 Broadnax St.
The first courthouse was the first floor of the Odd Fellow Building located at the corner of Broadnax and King Streets just North of the original "Town Square". The East Line and Red River Railroad crossed the Southern part of the College Plat Addition to Daingerfield in 1877.
In 1881, a group of citizens purchased the present site of the courthouse and presented the lot to Morris County. Within a few years, all of the businesses moved from the "Old Town" to the Southeast corner of the College Plat and the adjoining Hinnant Addition. Daingerfield was authorized to incorporate by an Act of the State Legislature in 1871. An election for incorporation was held in 1913 with a vote of 75 for incorporation and 64 against.
Morris County Courthouse 500 Broadnax Daingerfield, Texas 75638
Morris County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
General compliance by the 1930s.
History[edit | edit source]
Morris County was probably named for William Wright Morris, a judge and planter from Henderson, Rusk County, Texas
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1875--Morris County was created 6 March 1875 from Titus County.
- County seat: Daingerfield 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American Resources[edit | edit source]
- 1865 - 1870 Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
- Texas African American Griots USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy
- Texas African American Genealogy Access Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
Chamber of Commerce[edit | edit source]
- Daingerfield Chamber of Commerce - 305 Scurry - Daingerfield, Texas 75638
- Naples Chamber of Commerce - 101 W L Doc Dodson E - Naples, Texas 75568
Census[edit | edit source]
- Partial transcription of 1850 Federal Census - that portion of Morris County that was part of Titus County - Part of the USGenWeb Census Project
- 1880 Federal Census Index- Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
- 1890 Union Soldier Schedule - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
- Partial 1900 Federal Census Heads of Household - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Churches[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
- 1906-1989 Texas Naturalization Records ~ FamilySearch Record Collection
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Alexander Funeral Home - Highway 67W - Naples
- Johnson Funeral Home - 216Fred Street - Pittsburg
- Nail-Haggard Funeral Home, Inc. - 400 Webb Street - Daingerfield
- Reeder-Davis Funeral Home - 1213 Hanes Blvd. - Hugh Springs
- Reeder-Davis-Schlinder Funeral Home, Inc. - 202 N. Main - Linden
Historical Markers[edit | edit source]
Hospitals[edit | edit source]
- East Texas Medical Center Pittsburg - Pittsburg, Texas
- Linden Municipal Hospital - Linden, Texas
- Titus County Memorial Hospital - Mount Pleasant, Texas
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- 1910 Soil Survey of Morris County, Texas - The Portal to Texas History
- Original Land Owners of Texas - USGenWeb Archives Project
Landmarks[edit | edit source]
- Morris County, Texas Landmarks & Vanished Communities - Part of the TXGenWeb Project
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Morris County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Concord Chronicles - History of Concord Baptist Church - 1857-2007 written by Janette Tigert Cook, Vicki Tigert Davis and Reggie Talley
- List of Fugitives from Justice: 1891.--Part VII - Texas Adjutant General's Office "Compiled from reports of sheriffs received by the Adjutant General's Office." from The Portal to Texas History.
- Morris County Texas Cemeteries - Northern & Southern Sections - Published by Cass County Genealogical Society. For information, write the Society at P. O. Box 880, Atlanta, Texas 75551-0880
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Morris County, Texas Maps - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
- Soil Map - 1910 - The Portal to Texas History
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
Military[edit | edit source]
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Confederate Pension Applications - Texas State Library & Archives Commission
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1920 - Texas, World War I Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
- World War I Draft Registrations - Partial Transcription - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
World War II[edit | edit source]
- World War II Casualties- Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
Korean War[edit | edit source]
- Korean War Deaths - Part of the Morris County, TXGenWeb Site
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morris County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Cass County Sun - Linden
- East Texas Journal - Mount Pleasant
- Gilmer Mirror - Gilmer
- La Tribuna - Mount Pleasant
- Monitor - Naples
- Mount Pleasant Daily Tribune - Mount Pleasant
- Pittsburg Gazette - Pittsburg
- The Bee - Daingerfield
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840 - 1981 Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
- 1903 - 1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1910 - 1934 Morris County Birth Index 1910-1934 - Part of the Morris County TXGenWeb Site
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802 - 2010 Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966 - 2002 Morris County Marriage Index 1966-2002 - Part of the Morris County TXGenWeb Site
- 1966 - 2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 FamilySearch record collection
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890 - 1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976.
- 1890 - 1976 Texas Death Certificates 1890-1976 available online.
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1973 Texas, Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 FamilySearch records collection
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903 - 1973 Texas, Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 FamilySearch records collection
- 1908 - 1974 Morris County Death Index 1908-1974
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images]
- 1977 - 1986 Texas, Deaths, 1977-1986 ~ FamilySearch records collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968 - 2001 Morris County Divorce Index 1968-2001 - Part of the Morris County TXGenWeb Site
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index1968-2010 FamilySearch records
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Morris County Historical Society
507 E. Whiskey Still Road
Daingerfield, Texas 75638
Daingerfield Public Library
207 Jefferson Street
Daingerfield, Texas 75638
Telephone Number: 903-645-2823
Naples Public Library
101 Walnut Street
Naples, Texas 75568
Pittsburg Camp County Public Library
Pittsburg, Texas - 903-856-3302
Upshur County Library
Gilmer, Texas 75644
Telephone Number: 903-843-5001
Family History Center[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- Morris County Texas
- Morris County - USGenWeb Archives Project
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Morris, Texas" in "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morris_County,_Texas. accessed 11/22/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morris County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morris County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Morris County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morris_County,_Texas, Last accessed 18 August 2019.