Morrill County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Morrill County
 

Guide to Morrill County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Bridgeport
Organized: November 12, 1908
Parent County(s): Cheyenne[1]
Neighboring Counties
Banner  • Box Butte  • Cheyenne  • Garden  • Scotts Bluff  • Sheridan
See County Maps
Courthouse
NebraskaMorrillCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Nebraska highlighting Morrill County svg.bmp
Adoption


County Information

Description

Morrill County is located in the middle of the panhandle section of the state.[2] It was named after Charles Henry Morrill, a president of the Lincoln Land Company.[3]

County Courthouse

Morrill County Courthouse
402 G St
P.O. Box 610
Bridgeport, NE 69336-0610
Phone: 308.262.0860
Morrill County Website

County Clerk has birth, death and burial records from 1917 and land records from 1909.
County Judge has marriage and probate records. [1]

Morrill County, Nebraska Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1909 1909 1909 1910

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Morrill County, Nebraska:[5]

  • Angora
  • Atkins
  • Bayard
  • Bonner
  • Bridgeport
  • Broadwater
  • Lynn
  • Moomaw Corner
  • Northport
  • Redington
  • Vance

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Morrill County, Nebraska online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 4,584
1920 9,151 99.6%
1930 9,950 8.7%
1940 9,436 −5.2%
1950 8,263 −12.4%
1960 7,057 −14.6%
1970 5,813 −17.6%
1980 6,085 4.7%
1990 5,423 −10.9%
2000 5,440 0.3%
2010 5,042 −7.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Morrill County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Morrill County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nemorrill.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Morrill County for European and African American settlers included:

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers. Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Morrill - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Broadwater Public Library
    251 N. Starr Street
    Broadwater, NE 69125
    Phone: 308-489-0199
  • Bridgeport Public Library
    722 Main St
    Bridgeport, NE 69336
    Phone: 308-262-0326
  • Bayard Public Library
    509 Avenue A
    PO Box B
    Bayard, NE 69334-0676
    Director: Sharon Ulbrich
    Phone: 308-586-1144
    Fax: 308-586-1061
    e-mail: bayardpubliclibrary69334@gmail.com

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/morrill/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morrill_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Morrill County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morrill_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.
  6. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map II" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap2.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).