Morley St Botolph, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Morley St Botolph, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Morley St Botolph, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Forehoe|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1691|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
MORLEY (St. Botolph), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Forehoe, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (W. S. W.) from Wymondham. 
Morley St Botolph is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
MORLEY (St. Botolph), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Forehoe, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (W. S. W.) from Wymondham; containing 328 inhabitants. The parishes of Morley St. Botolph and Morley St. Peter comprise 1860a. 3r. 5p., of which 1409 acres are arable, and 397 pasture and meadow, and 30 woodland. The living is a rectory, with the living of St. Peter's annexed, valued in the king's books at £14. 11. 5½.; patron and incumbent, the Rev. C. B. Cooper: the tithes have been commuted for £580, and the glebe comprises 44 acres, with a handsome house, nearly rebuilt by the present incumbent. The church is in the early and later English styles with a square embattled tower. From: 'Morley - Morton-upon-Lug', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 345-350. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51160 Date accessed: 14 March 2011.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Forehoe 1837-1938
- Norwich Outer 1939-1974
Morley St Botolph, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Morley St Botolph, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 3 /1-6
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Norfolk: Morley St Botolph on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.345-350. Date accessed23 April 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
- 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
- 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.