Morgan County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Morgan County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Morgan County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 31, 1821
County Seat Martinsville
Courthouse
Address Morgan County Courthouse
PO Box 1556
Martinsville, IN 46151
Phone: 765-342-1025
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1822 1899 1822 1822 1822 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.
  • Parent Counties: Formed 31 December 1821 from Delaware New Purchase and Wabash New Purchase.[2]
  • County Seat: Martinsville [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Revolutionary War General Daniel Morgan, who defeated the British at the Battle of Cowpens. The County Seat is Martinsville and was founded February 15, 1822.[4] It is located in the Central area of the state.[5]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Putnam  • Hendricks  • Marion  • Johnson  • Brown  • Monroe  • Owen

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

March 1876 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 5,593
1840 10,741 92.0%
1850 14,576 35.7%
1860 16,110 10.5%
1870 17,528 8.8%
1880 18,900 7.8%
1890 18,643 −1.4%
1900 20,457 9.7%
1910 21,182 3.5%
1920 20,010 −5.5%
1930 19,424 −2.9%
1940 19,801 1.9%
1950 23,726 19.8%
1960 33,875 42.8%
1970 44,176 30.4%
1980 51,999 17.7%
1990 55,920 7.5%
2000 66,689 19.3%
2010 68,894 3.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Morgan County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morgan County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morgan County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Putnam CountyHendricks CountyMarion CountyJohnson CountyBrown CountyMonroe CountyOwen CountyIN MORGAN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Morgan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Morgan County.

Civil War Books[edit | edit source]
  • "Military History" in Blanchard, Charles. Counties of Morgan, Monroe, and Brown, Indiana. Historical and Biographical. (Chicago: F.A. Battey & Co, 1884.) page 50-80, 977.2 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection, Other Libraries, INTERNET ARCHIVE

World War I[edit | edit source]

World War II[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Morgan County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records. Online Records


Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morgan County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Morgan County Courthouse
Morgan County Records Department
PO Box 1556
Martinsville, IN 46151
Phone: 765-342-1018

County Clerk has marriage, probate and court records. County Recorder has land records. Board of Health has birth and death records. [7]


Taxation[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morgan County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

 Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Birth Records[edit | edit source]

Marriage Records[edit | edit source]

Death Records[edit | edit source]

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morgan County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Morgan County History Partnership
PO Box 694
Mooresville, IN 46158
E-mail: morganhistorypartnership@gmail.com

Morgan County History and Genealogy Association
PO Box 1012
Martinsville, IN 46151-0012
Telephone Number: 765-342-3451
Fax: 765-342-9992
E-mail: jkistler@morgancountylibrary.info

Morgan County Public Library
110 South Jefferson Street
Martinsville, Indiana 46151
Phone: 765-342-3451
website Morgan County Public Library (Martinsville, IN)

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the family history center directory.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morgan County, Indiana. Page 211-218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 208-211.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morgan County, Indiana. Page 211-218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 208-211.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Morgan County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morgan_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  4. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Morgan County, Indiana Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/morgan/ 3/30/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Morgan County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morgan_County,_Indiana 3/30/2017.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Morgan County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morgan_County,_Indiana, accessed 27 December 2019.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monroe County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.