Morehouse Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Morehouse Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Morehouse Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 25, 1844|
|Address||100 East Madison|
Bastrop LA 71220
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Bible Records
- 5.3 Biography
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Obituaries
- 5.14 Probate
- 5.15 Schools
- 5.16 Taxation
- 5.17 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Abraham Morehouse. The County has Bastrop as its seat and the County was created 1844. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.
Morehouse Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Morehouse Parish Courthouse
125 E Madison Street
Bastrop, LA 71221
Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1870,
land records from 1844 and cemetery abstract 1867-1957 .
History[edit | edit source]
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1870 Some courthouse records lost.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill at 24-7 Family History Circle.
- When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle at Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Blog.
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]
- Ashley County, Arkansas
- Chicot County, Arkansas
- Union County, Arkansas
- West Carroll
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries, listing by county
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Morehouse Parish Bible Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Biography[edit | edit source]
- Morehouse Parish Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Morehouse Parish Biography Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Morehouse Parish cemeteries.
Census[edit | edit source]
- Morehouse Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Census Images (USGenWeb Census Images Project)
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana, by city (Church Angel)
- Morehouse Parish Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
- Morehouse Parish Court Records (LAGenWeb)
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- Pre-1908 - Search for Louisiana BLM Land Records (RootsWeb)
- Morehouse Parish Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Morehouse Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Louisiana Museums
- Morehouse Parish History Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Morehouse Parish History (LAGenWeb)
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- USGW Digital Map Collection (USGenWeb Archives)
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1883 - Morehouse Parish Pensioners on the Rolls as of January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Regiments. Service men in Morehouse Parish, Louisiana Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Morehouse Parish, Louisiana Genealogy:
- - 3rd Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Confederate), Company B
- - 3rd Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Harrison's)(Confederate), Company F
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1920 - Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Newspaper List, listing by name/parish (USNPL)
- Louisiana Newspaper listing (Newslink)
- Morehouse Parish News Articles (USGenWeb Archives)
- Articles of historical interest from Morehouse Newspapers (LAGenWeb)
- Morehouse Parish Newspaper Gleanings (Genealogy Trails)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morehouse Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Morehouse Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Morehouse Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
- Index to Morehouse Parish Obituaries (LAGenWeb)
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Morehouse Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
Schools[edit | edit source]
- 1897 Commencement Morehouse High School (LAGenWeb)
- Morehouse Parish School Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Morehouse Parish Schools (LAGenWeb)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- Morehouse Parish Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1869-1875 - Index to Morehouse Parish Marriage Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Morehouse Parish Marriage Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 - Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1850 Mortality Schedule, Morehouse Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- Morehouse Parish Death Records (Genealogy Trails)
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Historical Society
428 Hector Ave
Metairie, La. 70005-4412
- Louisiana Historical Association
101 LSU Student Union
LSU Box 25435
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
Morehouse Parish Websites[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Morehouse Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Morehouse Parish Archives (USGenWeb Archives)
- Morehouse Parish, Louisiana (LAGenWeb)
- Morehouse Economic Development Corp.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Morehouse Parish Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- Morehouse Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
Louisiana Websites[edit | edit source]
- LAGenWeb Louisiana State Records
- USGenWeb Records, Maps, Archives and Other Projects
- Louisiana Archives (USGenWeb Archives)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Morehouse, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morehouse_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morehouse Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Morehouse Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Morehouse Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morehouse_Parish,_Louisiana, accessed 3 January 2020.