Mora Parish, Kopparberg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Kopparberg County
Mora


Guide to Mora Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Mora Church
Siknas-Church

History

Mora Municipality is a municipality in Dalarna County in central Sweden and its seat is located in the town of Mora.
The present municipality was created in 1971, when four older municipal entities were united.
[1]


Mora Parish, Kopparberg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat Mora
Län 1631-1640 Kopparberg, 1641-1646 Säter, 1647- Kopparberg
Landskap Dalarna
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1778 Mora, Venjan and Särna, 1779-1842 Mora, Sollerö, Venjan and Särna, 1843-1893 Mora, Sollerö and Venjan, 1894-1947 Mora, 1948-1970 Mora and Ors
Domsaga 1687-1875 Östra, later called Österdalarne, 1876-1970 Ovansiljan, 1971- Mora
Fögderi 1720-1966 Ovansiljan, 1967- Mora
Kommun 1863-1958 Mora, 1959-1970 Mora köping, 1971- Mora
Militär indelning Dal-regementet: Mora and Orsa Kompanier, Extra Soldat-Roteringen, Dalregementet: Mora and Orsa kompanier
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11069
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names

Bergkarlås, Björkvassla, Bonäs, Bäck,

Färnäs,

Garsås, Gopshus,

Heden, Hemus, Höjen,

Indor, Isunda,

Kråkberg,

Limbäck, Lisselby, Långlet,

Moren, Morkarlby, Myran,

Noreberg, Norret (Noret), Nusnäs,

Oxberg,

Risa,

Selja, Siljansfors, Storbyn, Storbyn Östra, Stranden,

Utmeland,

Wattnäs, Widbäcken, Wika, Winäs,

Öna, Östnor, Östra Storbyn,


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kopparberg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Kopparberg and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Mora parish, Husförhörslängd 1847-1856, AI;14a, Ort register.

Riksarkivet. "Mora Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/