Mora County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Mora County, New Mexico)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
New Mexico
Mora County

Guide to Mora County, New Mexico ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Mora
Organized: February 1, 1860
Parent County(s): Taos[1]
Neighboring Counties
Colfax  • Harding  • Rio Arriba  • San Miguel  • Santa Fe  • Taos
See County Maps
Courthouse
NewMexicoMoraCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nm-mora.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

In 1860, Mora County was established. The county seat is Mora.[2]

County Courthouse

Mora County Courthouse
PO Box 360
Mora, NM 87732
Phone: 585.387.2448
Mora County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1891, and land records from 1825
District Court Clerk has divorce and court records.[1]

Mora County, New Mexico Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1907 1891 1907 #4 1825 1920s 1790

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Mora County, New Mexico:[4]

Village

  • Wagon Mound

Unincorporated communities

  • Buena Vista
  • Canoncito
  • Chacon
  • Cleveland
  • Golondrinas
  • Guadalupita
  • Holman
  • La Cueva
  • Ocate
  • Ojo Feliz
  • Rainsville
  • Valmora

Census-designated places

  • Mora (county seat)
  • Watrous

Historical Places

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Mora County, New Mexico online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 12,611
1920 13,915 10.3%
1930 10,322 −25.8%
1940 10,981 6.4%
1950 8,720 −20.6%
1960 6,028 −30.9%
1970 4,673 −22.5%
1980 4,205 −10.0%
1990 4,264 1.4%
2000 5,180 21.5%
2010 4,881 −5.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.



Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Mora County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nmmora.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.

Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office

Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court

Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.

See also How to order New Mexico Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for New Mexico Birth Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Mexico.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://mora.nmgenweb.us/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mora County, New Mexico. Page 474 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 470.
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mora_County,_New_Mexico#Communities