Moore County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Carolina
Moore County

Guide to Moore County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Moore County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Moore County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1784
County Seat Carthage
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Moore Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Moore County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Land
Probate
1913
1851
1790
1787
1783


Moore County Courthouse
102 Monroe St
Carthage, NC 28327
Mailing Address:
PO Box 936
Carthage, NC 28327
Phone: (910) 947-2396

Courthouse burned in 1889
registrar of deeds has birth and death records from 1913
land records  from 1889 & land grants from 1784
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and Court Records[1]

Register of Deeds
PO Box 1210
Carthage, NC 28327
Telephone: 910-947-6370
Fax: 910-947-6396
Website

Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 936
Carthage, NC 28327
Telephone: (910) 722-5000

History

Moore County was formed in 1784 from Cumberland County. It was named in the honor of Captain Alfred Moore of Brunswick, a soldier of the Revolution and afterwards a judge of the Supreme Court of the United States. Moore County is in the south central section of the State and bounded by Harnett, Hoke, Scotland, Richmond, Montgomery, Randolph, Chatham, and Lee counties. The act establishing the county provided for the erection of the public buildings. In 1795 an act was passed which stated that the location of the courthouse was inconvenient; it named commissioners to purchase land near the center of the county and erect a new courthouse. In 1796 an act was passed establishing Carthage on land where the courthouse was to stand. In 1803 an act was passed naming commissioners to lay out a town and build a courthouse as directed in the act of 1796. In 1806, Carthage was changed to Feaginsville. In 1818, "Feaginsville" was changed back to Carthage, and is now the county seat.

Parent County

1784--Moore County was created from Cumberland County.
County seat: Carthage [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1889--Courthouse fire destroyed most of the land records and many court records.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncmoore.png

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Moore County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Cameron

Court

Moore County Clerk of Superior Court

The Clerk of Superior Court is elected for four years and must be a resident of the county in which he or she is elected. Unlike clerks of court in other states, the Clerk of Superior Court in North Carolina has numerous judicial functions.

As judge of probate, the Clerk has exclusive original jurisdiction over matters relating to the probate of wills, and the administration of estates, including appointing personal representatives, auditing their accounting, and removing them from office if necessary. The Clerk also presides over many other legal matters including adoptions, incompetency proceedings, condemnation of private lands for public use, and foreclosures. The Clerk is responsible for all clerical and record-keeping functions of the district and superior court. In addition, the Clerk receives and disburses money collected each year from court fees and fines.

Clerk of Superior Court's Office 910-947-2396
910-947-1444 (FAX)


A number of Court Records have been transcribed and are available at the following sites:


Genealogy

The Tidwell family of Moore County, North Carolina is discussed in:

  • [Tidwell] Johnson, Charles Owen. "The Tidwell Family," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1973):3-7; Vol. 17, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1973):114-121; Vol. 17, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1973):181-186; Vol. 17, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1973):295-299; Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1974):35-40; Vol. 18, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1974):129-135; Vol. 18, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1974):175-182; Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1974):257-264; Vol. 19, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1975):39-45. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 17 (1973) - v. 19 (1975).

Land

Moore County Register of Deeds
100 Dowd Street
Carthage, NC 28327

Mailing Address:
P. O. Box 1210
Carthage, NC 28327
910-947-6300

Has Land Records starting from 1787; their website includes a searchable database for their records.


A number of websites have transcribed deed and land records as follows:

Local Histories

Maps

Over 1000 upper Moore County Land Grants mapped out and plotted on present day map

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Online Records

Prisoner of War Records

Veteran and Burial Records

Regiments. Service men in Moore County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Moore County, North Carolina Genealogy:

- 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company E
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company E
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company I
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company H
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company I
- Jarrett B. Graham, 30th Infantry Company H
Civil War Battles
World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Moore County Clerk of Superior Court
910-947-2396
Has wills, estate records, and all transactions having to do with the settlement of estates starting from 1783. Contact their office to verify their records and fees.

The following websites have transcribed copies of Wills or Estate Records for Moore County:

Taxation

Original Tax Records including 1755, 1767, 1777-1780, 1783 for Cumberland County and 1793, 1795, 1797, 1807-1808, 1815, 1818-1823, 1844-1849 for Moore County

Vital Records

The Moore County Register of Deeds has an online searchable database for their Vital Records, including Birth, Death, and Marriage records.

Search Moore County Vital Records

Birth Records
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriages

Societies and Libraries

Moore County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1183
Pinehurst 28374-118
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Moore County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).